SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sewing Machines > Brother PC 420, Juki F600 or Viking Opal...please help! ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Brother PC 420, Juki F600 or Viking Opal...please help!
Shopping and need advice
305cupcake
305cupcake
Beginner
Florida USA
Member since 4/25/13
Send Message

Date: 4/25/13 7:33 PM

I'm a newbie and more confused than ever! I thought I had my mind made up on a Brother 420, then I went in and looked at Viking machines and the sales pitch went something like anything other than a Viking wasn't made well and was junk, then I called a .com rep of several brands and they recommended the juki f600.
I'm not sure exactly what I'm going to be sewing or how often, I'm looking for a quality machine I can grow with, but not overkill...or overly expensive. I definately want easy buttonhole feature, no tension issues, a knee lift or similar feature, needle up down option and great customer service. Please help this new girl on the block find my way through all this! Thank you!

Marie367
Marie367  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Ohio USA
Member since 5/28/11
Send Message

In reply to 305cupcake <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 4/25/13 7:58 PM

Have you checked reviews on here for these machines. I had the Brother 420-it was an ok machine. I know some people really love it. I just didn't bond with it and bought a Janome.
The Juki seems to have quite a following. There have been several threads about it recently.
The Vikings seem to depend on the model. Some people love them but I didn't find alot of consistent favorable reviews for the models I looked at. Viking I think is doing a better job and trying to make better machines and improve their image.