SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > 7 year old 430 vs new 530? ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
7 year old 430 vs new 530?
LeslieMH
LeslieMH
Member since 2/21/12
Send Message

thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 5/4/13 0:51 AM

Hi, this is my first time posting on these boards. I am looking for some advice regarding the purchase of a "new" machine. I am a beginner and currently own an old Bernette 720 and a 50's Singer ss machine. I've been really getting into garment sewing and am ready to invest in a new all around machine to compliment my vintage Singer. I'm really drawn to the Aurora 430 based on features and reviews and found one locally for sale on Craig's List. The price seems a little high, but it is supposedly in perfect condition and barely used. I'm a little nervous about spending so much ($1600) with no guarantees or dealer support for a 7 year old machine. But it seems the 400's have a good track record and I like that they were made in Switzerland. An alternative is a new 530 for $800 more. I will be sewing on both this weekend and I know that is the ultimate test. I just get the impression the the 400's were a really great, well loved machine and I don't get the feeling that the 500's are as popular or as proven. I'd be happy for any input as I make my decision! Thank you in advance.
Leslie

MochaB
MochaB
Member since 2/8/09
Send Message

In reply to LeslieMH <<

Date: 5/4/13 2:29 AM

I would be wary of buying a machine from someone you don't know. You are correct about not having a guarantee, and you don't know if the machine is "gently used" or thoroughly thrashed.

I am not sure that the 430s were made in Switzerland. I have an Activa 230 that was made in Thailand, but I love it.

The 530 is an improved version of the 430 with better lighting and redesigned case with a few extra features thrown in. Bernina did not change them much.