SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sergers, Coverstitch and Blindhemmers > Cover Stitch Machine or Serger for Sewing Underwear ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Cover Stitch Machine or Serger for Sewing Underwear
BoyBobbins
BoyBobbins  Friend of PR
Beginner
CA
Member since 7/12/09
Send Message

Date: 5/15/13 5:14 PM

Hi

I am new to sewing. I have had my Janome 1050 for less than two months. I would really like to make underwear. I plan on starting out with Jalie 3242. I have been seriously considering buying a Viking serger, but I had another thought. I have read that the standard way to attach exposed elastic to the waistband of underwear is with a cover stitch. I know a serger is a more versatile machine, but could I assemble the underwear with a Cover Pro alone? Could the Cover Pro handle all the seams? Is this a wacky idea or would this produce as good as or better results than a serger alone?

Thank you
-Ian

PattiAnnJ
star
PattiAnnJ
Advanced
OH USA
Member since 12/3/06
Send Message

thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 5/15/13 5:42 PM

How many of these garments do you plan on making?

Make a couple without the benefit of a serger/cover stitch machine. Then visit a couple dealers and have them demo their products.

We can manage without a serger/cover stitch machine, but not many of us want to do so.

------
I dont give them Hell, I just tell the truth about them and they think its Hell. Harry Truman

"Improvise, adapt and overcome." - Clint Eastwood/Heartbreak Ridge

Marie367
Marie367  Friend of PR
Intermediate
OH USA
Member since 5/28/11
Send Message

In reply to BoyBobbins <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 5/15/13 10:35 PM