SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Would linen work for this trouser pattern? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Would linen work for this trouser pattern?
he pattern says use 'softly draping trouser fabric'
aprilla
aprilla
Beginner
Member since 6/2/12
Send Message

thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 7/2/13 10:24 AM

I wish I could post a photo, must get around to figuring that... but I think I did a fairly good job sewing the Burda Marlene trousers (made in poly jersey according to the fabric tag) and they feel good on. However the colour wants sunshine, and an umbrella in a frosty drink, but it's raining here. So I'm thinking of using some black linen I have to make the trouser again but am unsure if that would be suitable??? Since I've washed the linen several times and ironed it, it feels quite nice... too nice not to ask for fabric advice. I have very little experience with fabrics.

I spent ages looking at linen trousers in on-line shops and google but have not yet seen any with waist facings and back seam invisible zips like my pattern, all seem to have either a stretch waist or a waistband.

Here is a picture of the pants I'm wondering if linen would suit

I know it's hard to say (or at least I guess it must be?!) but would appreciate any thoughts, before I make a bad mistake. I like the fabric and could keep it until I can make something else? But I'm happy to chance it if anyone thinks the linen would work ok.

EleanorSews
star
EleanorSews  Friend of PR
Advanced
Michigan USA
Member since 7/26/07
Board Moderator
Send Message

thumbsup 3 members like this.

Date: 7/2/13 10:35 AM

Linen would be ideal for those pants. I'm continuing to wear an ancient pair of black linen pants that are a bit on the big side because they are perfect summer pants. One of these days I will conquer fitting a pants pattern for today's body and then can replace them.