SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Quilters' Corner > Ugh! My strips aren't even ( Moderated by Sharon1952)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Ugh! My strips aren't even
Sewncooknmom
Sewncooknmom
Advanced Beginner
Member since 6/2/12
Send Message

Date: 8/14/13 7:22 PM

Before I go on: I'm very new at quilting.

So, I am supposed to be cutting 2 1/4" long strips. Then out of some of them I need to be cutting 5" strips. While cutting them, I noticed that not all of my strips were completely 2 1/4" wide! Some parts of a strip would be, but not all.

What am I doing wrong? Any tips?

Thank you!

Franksdottir

Franksdottir  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Member since 4/25/08
Send Message

In reply to Sewncooknmom <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 8/14/13 7:51 PM

I hate that when it happens.

I don't know what other people do, but to try to prevent this happening I cut the strips a little larger (by a quarter of an inch usually), press them, then cut them exactly.

HOWEVER, if you are cutting SQUARES, you do not need to cut long strips if you do not want to. Another way of doing it is to cut a larger square, and then cut that. It is easier to keep a square square and the right size than doing long strips.

For example: If I need four squares which will each finish to 3", then I really need 4 3 1/2" squares. Cut a large square slightly larger than 7"; press this and make it exactly 7", and then cut into four 3 1/2" smaller squares. It is a little time-consuming and uses a tish more fabric, but it is very, very accurate.

------
Barb

Warbler
star
Warbler  Friend of PR
Advanced
Vermont USA
Member since 4/15/07
Send Message

thumbsup 4 members like this.

Date: 8/14/13 8:15 PM