SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > When are you no longer a beginner? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
When are you no longer a beginner?
turtleandi
star
turtleandi
Advanced Beginner
Member since 1/29/13
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 9/3/13 10:45 PM

I recently began posting pattern reviews and the comment I keep getting is "Are you sure you're a beginner?" I take this comment as a great compliment of course but I still consider myself a beginner. How do I know when I've graduated?

I've been sewing for about 9 months and have completed 16 garments. I've done several sewing techniques and learned a lot about fitting my body. I've done zippers (invisible, lapped, fly front), pockets (inseam, inseam w/ zipper, patch, welt), seam finishes (Hong Kong, french seams, lining), knits without a serger, among other things. I've found very good tutorials to help me along. As for fitting, Peggy Sagers' webcasts have help me immensely. Fit is most important to me and I believe my sewing skills will get better with time.

I have learned a lot in these 9 months but have soooo many more things I need to learn about fitting and sewing. I still think I'm a beginner but maybe I'm not giving myself enough credit. At what point can you no longer call yourself a beginner?

I see this has been asked before, most recently here http://sewing.patternreview.com/SewingDiscussions/topic/78879
-- Edited on 9/3/13 11:45 PM --

Engrmom1
Engrmom1
Advanced Beginner
Member since 3/3/12
Send Message

In reply to turtleandi <<

Date: 9/3/13 11:05 PM

If you've successfully completed 16 garments, including fitting, and have tackled zippers and some of the more exacting seam finishes, I definitely would not consider you a beginner. You may not have been sewing long, but it sounds like you have worked hard to gain skills.