SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > No Presser Foot Tension Adjustment, No Walking Foot ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
No Presser Foot Tension Adjustment, No Walking Foot
D Hart
D Hart  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
USA
Member since 1/10/13
Send Message

Date: 9/8/13 10:04 AM

I'm a beginner with a Bernina 380. Some sewists I've read/viewed seem to state that it's possible for any current/aspiring sewist to compensate for the lack of pressure foot adjustment capability by the way they hold/ feed the fabric. One person suggested that you just need to hold the fabric taut in front and in back with equal tension. Another person said you can compensate by gripping the fabric with your right hand while pressing down on the fabric with your left hand on the fabric ahead of where it reaches the feed dogs.

I would love to hear comments/observations on this subject.

Mufffet
starstarstarstar
Mufffet  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Vermont USA
Member since 8/14/05
Send Message

In reply to D Hart <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 9/8/13 10:12 AM

How does your 380 feed? I think it would feed just fine as is, so see how it goes, and then see if you have to worry about such issues at all. Then save for a walking foot. Yes, fabric can be handled as you describe, but that is a process that must be done gently so as not to pull the needle out of alignment.

I think you will find your Bernina 380 is going to work fine as is in almost 99% of your sewing needs. :)

------
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible."
--Dalai Lama

I have sewing machines

PattiAnnJ
star
PattiAnnJ
Advanced
USA
Member since 12/3/06
Send Message

thumbsup 3 members like this.

Date: 9/8/13 10:28 AM

No pressure adjustment of the presser foot. Then you should look into getting a walking foot. You can find them for a better price than at the dealer if you search online.