SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Beginner problems ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Beginner problems
Muslin or not?
Challis
Challis
Beginner
OR USA
Member since 3/21/13
Send Message

Date: 10/16/13 8:13 AM

I am a beginner sewer and I can't sew a think that fits? I want to know should I make muslin first and is this hard to fit to your body. I have no one to help pin my muslin or is tissue better ?

------
Sewing lady

mgmsrk1
mgmsrk1
Intermediate
NY
Member since 12/16/12
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 10/16/13 8:55 AM

If you already know you have trouble fitting things then of course you should make a muslin.

If you know you have problems with fitting you can adjust your pattern a bit before you sew your first muslin and go from there.

------
1968 Kenmore 158. (AKA The Hulk)
Bernina 230
Janome 6600 (for sale)
Janome 7700
Juki 600
Elna serger
Kenmore serger
Janome 1000 CoverStitch
Juki 8500 Industerial

Kiawe
star
Kiawe
Advanced Beginner
Member since 9/30/12
Send Message

thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 10/16/13 8:57 AM

If you have already made some items that don't fit, treat them as muslins. Compare them to clothes that do fit you. Are the measurements different? Are the shapes of the armholes or the crotch different?

Also, if you're using commercial patterns and just starting out, don't trust the measurement charts to tell you what size to make. I find that I have to usually go two sizes smaller than what the chart is telling me. If the garment just seems too big or too small, try different sizes til you find one that's mostly right before you begin tweaking the pattern.

JTink
star
JTink
Intermediate
Member since 4/20/08
Send Message

In reply to Challis <<
thumbsup 4 members like this.

Date: 10/16/13 9:06 AM