SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sergers, Coverstitch and Blindhemmers > Which Overlocker is Best? ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Which Overlocker is Best?
oneredcherry
oneredcherry
Intermediate
AUSTRALIA
Member since 11/3/13
Send Message

Date: 11/6/13 9:59 PM

hi! Ive posted a few times on here, and got myself thoughly confused! Basically I want a overlocker. I sew a lot of childrens clothes, and am starting making clothes for myself, and want a more professional finish.

So I have a few options. I am looking at buying a used bernina 1200mda, price 550. *apparently* it hasnt been used much, but as its in perth, and im in melbourne, I cant go and see it. The lady is very nice and has sent me lots of photos. It looks good, but as a complete serger novice, i dont really know what im looking at.

I like berninas, i tried them at the showa few weeks back, and fell in love with a 800, but sadly, my funds arent going to stretch that far.

So, my other options would be to buy a new machine, im thinking one of the following
*janome 644d
*elna 644 (either the pro or not, im not sure. Is it worth spending the extra money to get the pro?)
*Bernina Bernette 610d
*Husqvarna Huskylock S15

Are berninas that good that a second hand one would be better than a new something else?
Are any of the above models exceptionally good?
Basically, if you were in my shoes, which would you choose?
Jessica
P.S I would love to go and try these machines out, but i live rurally, and its quite a long hall to the nearest dealer of any sort

julibet
star
julibet  Friend of PR
Intermediate
North Carolina USA
Member since 6/6/05
Send Message

In reply to oneredcherry <<
thumbsup 3 members like this.

Date: 11/7/13 7:52 AM