SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Bernina or Juki for thread painting and Quiet!! ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Bernina or Juki for thread painting and Quiet!!
Anyone have experience with either model?
csa12
csa12  Friend of PR
Beginner
Member since 11/21/13
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 1/6/14 12:22 PM

I love this board and have learned so much from you! Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

I am a beginner quilter and am looking for a possible replacement for my Viking 875Q i bought in Sept/2013.
I sew in our basement TV room and it's quite loud. I also find the thread cutter to be very fussy. I took it to my dealer and aside from a slight adjustment to the tension, they did not find any problems.

While I love learning how to make traditional quilts, I am really interested in learning how to create art quilts embellished with thread painting, beadwork, etc. I have tried the Juki F600 and the Bernina 380, 560, and 580. They all seem quiet enough but my two questions are...

-which have people liked for thread painting specifically?
-have you found yourself limited by either brand as far as types of feet available and other accessories that will allow me to quilt with a variety of different materials (beads, paper, light and heavy fabrics).

Obviously, I have a lot to learn about the features that are important to me. So far, I like the how my Viking raises the needle ever so slightly to allow me to pivot my fabric as I make turns, a machine with LED lighting helps my weak eyesight, larger throat space, Start/stop button would be useful. I really would also like a machine that is not so loud while my family watches TV!

Both Bernina and Juki dealers in my area are great so that balances out. What have other people's experiences been with these machines?

Thanks so much!
Cheryl

karen149
star
karen149  Friend of PR
Intermediate
CA