SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Tips on evening out the hem on a full skirt, please! ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Tips on evening out the hem on a full skirt, please!
j Renee Design
star
j Renee Design
Intermediate
Wisconsin USA
Member since 7/26/10
online now
Send Message

Date: 1/16/14 11:03 AM

So, I'm a little ashamed I don't know the best way to do this alone, since I've been sewing for almost 2 decades, but this is a great place to ask these kinds of questions!

I'm currently making a dress with a 6 gore flared skirt, and I there's already been some very appreciable stretching along the seamlines, despite careful handling (dang drapey silk will do that). There's that to contend with, plus I'm sure additional bias stretch will occur after completing everything but the hem and hanging for the requisite 24 hours.

What is the best way to even out the hem? Do those do-hickeys that stand on the floor with the ruler that puff out chalk work well? In school, we always just crawled around on the floor and measured the hem while the garment was on our model...I don't have someone to crawl around on the floor for me. LOL

I don't have a sewing buddy, but I do have a dress form. However, my from doesn't have as much as I have in the bust, so I don't think it would hang the same as if it were on my body. Throw a bra on her and pad it up?

Any hints, tips or tricks? I know if anyone has them, you guys do! :)
-- Edited on 1/16/14 11:15 AM --

------
Jess
Sewing, Knitting, Living: http://www.sometimessewist.wordpress.com

2013 - Bought: 181, Used: 96, Stashed: 85
2014 - Carryover: 85, Bought: 98 1/8, Used: 126 3/8, Stashed: 57 3/4

Speech girl
starstar
Speech girl  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Georgia USA
Member since 5/11/03
Send Message

In reply to j Renee Design <<
thumbsup 5 members like this.

Date: 1/16/14 11:27 AM

Here's One method

This Excerpt Might help