SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Machine Embroidery > New to this... ( Moderated by Pyrose)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
New to this...
GixxerKitten
GixxerKitten
Beginner
VA USA
Member since 11/8/07
Send Message

Date: 1/23/14 3:18 PM

I'm new to embroidery. As a matter of fact, I'm so new that I had my first class on Saturday and have been staring at my machine since that day. I'm sure that I'm going to love it as soon as I get the hang of it. I have a Viking Designer Diamond and I'm quite overwhelmed.

I have soooooo many questions that have already been covered in so many other threads and I've tried to read as many of them as possible.

Question: During my learning process, is it safe to go with less expensive thread? There are some great deals on Amazon and eBay that I'm having a hard time overlooking because of the price. My theory is that I can't go wrong using less expensive thread during this learning process. I could be wrong and I know that often times you get what you pay for... How did you folks proceed in your learning process with the purchase of materials?

------
you want me to do what? with a sewing machine?

lkmbpk
lkmbpk
Intermediate
FL USA
Member since 12/28/09
Send Message

In reply to GixxerKitten <<
thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 1/23/14 4:31 PM

I would just buy a few colors of "good" thread to practice with. I bought some of the inexpensive thread on ebay for a Brother PE 750D that I use to have and it keep shredding and breaking. That can be very frustrating, especially when you're trying to learn how to use the machine.

------
Doo-doo-DOO-doo, Doo-doo-DOO-doo......
You're traveling through another dimension -- a dimension not only of sight and sound but of mind. A journey into a wondrous land whose boundaries are that of imagination. That's a signpost up ahead: your next stop: the Internet!

PattiAnnJ
star
PattiAnnJ
Advanced
OH USA
Member since 12/3/06
Send Message