SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Fitting Woes > Simplicity 2146 excess fabric tummy area ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Simplicity 2146 excess fabric tummy area
saraatkin
saraatkin
Beginner
Member since 6/21/12
Send Message

Date: 4/6/14 4:48 PM

Hi I am an complete beginner and could do with some advice. I have made a muslim of Simplicity 2146. I have already made some adjustments - petite adjustments so waist and hips are in the right place. Graded the pattern on the waistline between sizes 4 and 6 to ensure waist not too tight. Overall I am happy with the fit with one exception. There is excess fabric over the tummy area that bubbles. I suspect that I need to take the side seams in from below the waist right down over the hips and through to the hem. As it's a princess seam though I just wanted to check that it's not the two middle seams i need to adjust. It's taken me 2 muslins and several weeks to get to this point and I'm feeling a little dispirited. Here are some photos:
Sew Petite Blog

JTink
star
JTink
Intermediate
Member since 4/20/08
Send Message

In reply to saraatkin <<
thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 4/6/14 5:29 PM

It's hard for me to see the photos, they are very dark. How does the bust fit? Could the "bubble" be from bust issues?

saraatkin
saraatkin
Beginner
Member since 6/21/12
Send Message

Date: 4/6/14 5:33 PM

I know it's really hard to see from the photos as the fabric is so dark and shiny. The top of the dress fits perfectly so don't believe there are any issues there. It's waist down that the problems start. There is definitely excess fabric that I can grab from the waist down through the hips (probably a good half inch each side.

simplystitches
simplystitches
New York USA
Member since 2/12/06
Send Message

In reply to saraatkin <<

Date: 4/6/14 6:53 PM

Quote: