SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sergers, Coverstitch and Blindhemmers > Weak seams/thread pulling holes in seams on overlocker-help please! ( Moderated by CarolynGM, Deepika)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Weak seams/thread pulling holes in seams on overlocker-help please!
blanny
blanny
Beginner
AUSTRALIA
Member since 5/19/13
Send Message

Date: 4/20/14 1:11 AM

Hi there, I'm relatively new to the world of overlocking/serging and need some advice. I got a Janome Harmony 9102D for Christmas and have made a few garments. Thought I had it figured out until I started to wear them and noticed the seams were pulling apart (see photos).

https://www.flickr.com/photos/48852648@N06/

The red and white one in particular is an extreme example of what is happening and I blamed it on the fabric at first but have now noticed some small holes appearing on other fabrics at the seams where the stretch is required (like the side seams of a tight fitting dress bodice)

Can anyone please tell me why this is happening and how I can fix it? I was all pleased with myself thinking I had overcome my fear of the serger and now this! Help!

Thanks so much in advance! :)

kcurtis
kcurtis  Friend of PR
Advanced
Colorado USA
Member since 12/15/12
Send Message

Date: 4/20/14 6:03 AM

We need a bit more info. What was the setup on your machine?

------
Just a hack that sews for a living. ;)

blanny
blanny
Beginner
AUSTRALIA
Member since 5/19/13
Send Message

Date: 4/20/14 6:54 AM

Sorry should have thought to provide that. Left needle = 3.5, Right = 3, upper looper 2.5 and lower 3.5. Stitch length is 3. On a second look at the inside of the seam, one of the loops is too far over, almost meeting the loop on the other side of the seam.