SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Practice Fabric ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Practice Fabric
what kind of fabric did you use when you were starting to use patterns
hyattrocillo
hyattrocillo
Beginner
PHILIPPINES
Member since 2/6/14
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 4/23/14 7:16 AM

what kind of fabric did you use when you were starting to use patterns?

I'm a novice sewer and it's very painful to use fabrics (recommended in Simplicity patterns) and not end up having the results that I want. Wasted fabrics = waste of money.

please recommend a "go to" fabric.

Guelphgurl
star
Guelphgurl  Friend of PR
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 2/28/13
Send Message

thumbsup 2 members like this.

Date: 4/23/14 7:38 AM

Cotton!

rttai
star
rttai
Intermediate
Member since 1/12/14
Send Message

Date: 4/23/14 7:41 AM

Ditto for cotton. Simple patterns. When I stated sewing in junior high, the first thing we made was an apron, then a very simple a-line skirt. All in easy to sew cotton. Have fun on your journey...and remember, we all have had throw away results.

m/m

m/m  Friend of PR
Intermediate
New Jersey USA
Member since 4/4/05
Send Message

Date: 4/23/14 9:41 AM

Cotton is easy to work with. Pick fabric that you like. Don't try to be virtuous and work on fabric that you don't like just because it was cheap. Make something simple that you can wear around the house in case you don't feel happy enough about to wear it in public. Save some scraps of the fabric to use in a quilt or for something else down the line sometime. You can tell people the pieces are from the first garment you ever made.

Maybe check out places that sell discounted fabric or hit yard sales or resale shops. Our local visiting nurses have a yard sale to beat all yard sales and their fabrics are cheap and often surprisingly good buys.

dmh1
star
dmh1
Intermediate
North Carolina USA