SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Forum > Fashion Styles and Trends > Graduation Robe/Hat/Tassle/Stole ( Moderated by Lynnelle)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Graduation Robe/Hat/Tassle/Stole
To trash or donate?
cathytxtwfr
star
cathytxtwfr  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Texas USA
Member since 8/20/12
Send Message

Date: 6/11/14 11:23 AM

I've been doing some house cleaning... and found my graduation robe, hat, tassle, and stole. I graduated in 2009 and honestly I don't want this stuff anymore because I won't ever use it again but most of the fabric is just horrible. One feel and I feel repelled. The robe is so cheaply made. There is no care in the construction, everything was just slapped together. Look what sewing has done to me - I can't look past the polyester and general bad quality!

I feel bad because I know lots of people go to great lengths to frame and preserve their graduation ceremony stuff... but I'm okay with my paper degree and want to chunk the rest. I have other things from college with better memories than this robe I wore for only a day.

So just curious for those who have graduated - what did you do with your robes, tassle, hat, stole? Keep or trash/donate?

HanPanda
star
HanPanda
Intermediate
Member since 4/27/08
Send Message

thumbsup 6 members like this.

Date: 6/11/14 11:31 AM

Contact your school, see if they'll take donations for students who can't afford to buy the graduation regalia. I know several folks who ended up in that situation and unable to walk because the regalia cost some $130 they didn't have to spare.

------
2014 resolution: keep track of sewn yardage!! I'm subtracting fabric given away from my yardage in. Yeah!
In: 93 yards
Sewn: 57 yards

I'll try anything once :)

Please excuse my typos...sometimes it is harder to go back and edit on mobile than it is worth!

cathytxtwfr
star
Advanced Beginner
Texas USA