SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Sewing Machines > Best brand/model $500-1K range for intermediate sewng? ( Moderated by Sharon1952, EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Best brand/model $500-1K range for intermediate sewng?
Shopping for a new computerized machine for sewing clothing.. Recommendations??
Arwynne
star
Arwynne
Intermediate
Canada
Member since 6/7/12
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 6/21/14 10:31 PM

I searched the forums here (hi!) for an all-purpose "help, I'm overwhelmed! What machine should I buy?" thread, but couldn't find one (sorry if I missed it). There are way too many options. I'm crowdsourcing to save my sanity here! Any advice will be SO greatly appreciated...

So. I've been researching new machines for a couple of weeks now (since my 1970s-era Kenmore started mangling every buttonhole I attempt (grr!!). I don't have many must-have features, except for 1-step buttonholes and free-arm option... I've spoken with a local dealer who recommended the Janome DC6030 but it's so new that there aren't many reviews out there. (As brands go, Janome seems pretty unimpeachable, so maybe I can't go wrong?) Then I started browsing craigslist and found an ad for a Janome 8077 which also has great reviews... but now I'm wondering if another brand would be better --it was pure chance that the nearest dealer is Janome (actually there's a Pfaff store here too). I'm not just looking for "the best bargain" but I want to make a decision I won't regret. A computerized machine in the $500-1K range seems reasonable based on my research so far...