SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Beginner's Forum > What do you do with your test garments? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
What do you do with your test garments?
fabricaddiction
fabricaddiction
Beginner
Member since 1/12/11
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 7/9/14 5:20 PM

I've always been puzzled by this. Sewers all over create test garments and muslins.

But, after all the sewing, and correcting, and so on, where do they go? How are they used? Does a muslin get re-used? Or thrown away?

I'm very new to sewing, but am an old hat at reading about sewing

linaml
linaml
Advanced Beginner
Washington USA
Member since 4/16/14
Send Message

Date: 7/9/14 5:44 PM

I try to make 'wearable' muslins as far as possible, so even if they don't look good enough to wear out, they can become loungewear. If that doesn't work out, I keep all my scraps to make this: Square Floor Cushion by Rae

dmh1
dmh1  Friend of PR
Intermediate
North Carolina USA
Member since 1/13/13
Send Message

Date: 7/9/14 5:58 PM

If I'm using proper muslin fabric I'll cut up the garment and reuse the fabric - either for another muslin or for lining pieces. More often, though, I'm using fashion fabric I don't like very much, though that is dwindling as I get better at judging online fabric choices. If the muslin doesn't work out in a fashion fabric then I either donate it or cut it up for lining or new muslins.

------
Michelle

SM: Janome DC2013 & Singer Futura Quintet
Serger: Janome Magnolia 7034D
Coverstitch: Singer 14T968DC

DonnaH
star
DonnaH
Intermediate
Texas USA
Member since 10/1/03
Send Message

Date: 7/9/14 6:24 PM

I have used bodice muslins for the lining, and also cut smaller pieces for other muslins from them. I tend to use the cheap batiste/broadcloth from Hobby Lobby, in a variety of colors, so it also works for facings and trim in a pinch.

PattyE
starstarstar
PattyE  Friend of PR
Intermediate