SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Forum > Machine Embroidery > Which Sewing & Embroidery Machine is Best Under 4K ( Moderated by Pyrose)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Which Sewing & Embroidery Machine is Best Under 4K
Apinklady
Apinklady
Member since 6/28/14
Send Message

Date: 7/19/14 12:11 PM

I am looking for a sewing & embroidery machine under $4k. I am new to machine emboidery. I am attracted to the Brother 2800d (like the Disney). Can I get more/better machine for around $4,000? I have seen some on Ebay but afraid to purchase from an unknown source. Also, think it may be best to purchase from dealer where I can take classes and get support. The dealer is quoting an add'l $750 for a 3 year maint agreement. What software/extras might I be able to negotiate into the price to make it more attractive. Also, want to be able to sew heavy materials (sunbrella). Any advise is appreciated. Thanks.

ryan's mom
starstarstar
ryan's mom  Friend of PR
Advanced
Member since 11/30/04
online now
Send Message

thumbsup 1 member likes this.

Date: 7/19/14 8:48 PM

I think you can do much better at a dealer. But as for the best machine? Take your sample fabrics to a dealer and do test drives on various machines. You'll know the right machine for you when you use it.

------
Big 4 Pattern size 12, RTW bottom: 6, RTW jacket 8, RTW top (no size fits me well!)
Measurements: 34 HB/36 FB (34C bra)/27.5/36 (and working hard to keep it that way.)
Machines: Sewing: Elna 760, vintage Kenmore Model 33 (1967), Janome Gem Gold 3, Singer Model 99, Singer 221/Featherweight. Sergers: Babylock Imagine and Babylock Enlighten. Embroidery Only: Janome 300E. Embroidery/Sewing Combo: Brother Dream machine. Coverstitch: Babylock BLCS. Straight Stitch: Janome 1600P.

If you think your sewing is better than everyone else's around here, get out of my way b****. I hate sewing snobs.

My blog: www.phatchickdesigns.blogspot.com

allorache