SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Lame fabric? ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Lame fabric?
Idk what this fabric is or how to hem it!
theVeganHippie
theVeganHippie
Beginner
Member since 7/22/14
Send Message

Date: 7/22/14 4:02 PM

Hi. I am new to sewing and just found this forum. I am teaching myself to sew so I don't know what I'm doing. Anyways I am making my daughter a sleeveless knee length summer version of an Elsa dress & she found this fabric (it was in the remnants at walmart) and loved it. So I decided to use to to make the cape of the dress. I have no idea what it is but after awhile of looking online I think it is lame. It is sheer and I don't want to put a lining under it if I don't have to because It would look so much better without it.
I'm posting some pictures of it so maybe you can tell me what it is? It unravels sooo easy & the metallic threads look like a tiny plastic ribbon.
Any ideas on how I can hem it?
I planned to use ric rac around the edges but idk if i Can do that either.

Thanks!
-- Edited on Today at 4:05 PM --

theVeganHippie
theVeganHippie
Beginner
Member since 7/22/14
Send Message

In reply to theVeganHippie <<

Date: 7/22/14 4:05 PM

I don't know if my pictures are coming up. let me know if you can't see them

HanPanda
star
HanPanda
Intermediate
Member since 4/27/08
Send Message

Date: 7/22/14 4:12 PM

Quote: theVeganHippie

photo fabric_zps42d454d5.jpg
 photo fabric2_zps293a4b20.jpg

Welcome to PR! FYI for posting pictures, we use the HTML codes, rather than the typical"forum" BBcode. :D