SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Beginner's Forum > Please Help Me Choose a Fabric for Simplicity 2594 ( Moderated by EleanorSews)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Please Help Me Choose a Fabric for Simplicity 2594
Ubik
Ubik  Friend of PR
Beginner
North Carolina USA
Member since 6/2/13
Send Message

Date: 7/30/14 9:58 PM

This pattern comes with quite a few fabric suggestions, but I'd like to stick with the first one: 'laundered cottons'. You'd think that one would be easy for me, but I can't find anything other than quilting cotton or actual muslin that fits that description at my local store. I'm an extreme beginner and I've been having a hard time finding something that is easy to sew but is also affordable and is something I'll actually wear out of the house.
I'm really trying to stay away from prints or any fabrics with rumpliness built in, like seersucker, just to give myself a break. I have made a few tops from the quilting 'broadcloth' section at my local store and the drape was bad and rough for the projects I chose and so I tossed them. They worked as muslins but I'm really hoping to get a couple of things made I can wear out.
Solid, washable, thick enough that I don't need a tank underneath and not quilting cotton are my requirements.
I've been looking at shirting fabric on fabric.com and moodfabrics.com but they are kind of expensive. Would poplin be a good choice?
Also, would Kona or Wendover be a substantially different top experience than the standard quilting cotton it's next to in the store?
 photo Simplicity2594_zps35afae98.jpg'/>
-- Edited on Today at 10:04 PM --

Arlene1995
Arlene1995  Friend of PR
Advanced Beginner
Victoria Australia
Member since 9/11/12
Send Message

In reply to Ubik <<
thumbsup 4 members like this.

Date: 7/30/14 10:33 PM

Hi Ubik