SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Forum > Sewing Techniques and Tips > Hemming a skirt with a vent and lining ( Moderated by MissCelie)

Please LOGIN or Join PatternReview
Go to Page:
Hemming a skirt with a vent and lining
hemming, petites, skirts
cristina mary
cristina mary
Member since 2/12/11
Send Message

Date: 8/16/14 5:16 PM

Hello fellow petite ladies!

I just bought an adorable pencil skirt from Target for $24.99 - great price, but it is too long! It is lined and has a vent. I need to take about 3 inches off of it which would leave only an inch left of the vent, so it would need to be extended.

Anyone have any website, links, or suggestions on how to hem a skirt with a vent? I am a beginner/intermediate sewer - can follow a pattern really well - but slightly complicated tailoring techniques like this have me flustered.

Any help would be so welcome!

Cristina

Woolygal

Woolygal  Friend of PR
Member since 6/30/08
Send Message

Date: 8/17/14 8:55 AM

Is it possible to shorten it from the waist?

jacqui583
jacqui583
Intermediate
Ontario Canada
Member since 11/25/13
Send Message

In reply to Woolygal <<

Date: 8/17/14 9:08 AM

My concern with shortening it from the waist would be that the vent would be raised 3" which could end up with too much "exposure".

------
Jacqui

Phoebe (Pfaff Quilt Ambition 2.0)
Jenny (Janome Coverpro 1000cpx)
Sergio (Brother 1034D)
Betty (White 1505)

BirdyBooo
star
BirdyBooo
Beginner
Victoria Australia
Member since 6/14/14
Send Message

Date: 8/17/14 10:49 AM

Would it be comfortable without the vent? Just sew it up all together?

cristina mary
cristina mary
Member since 2/12/11
Send Message

Date: 8/17/14 1:51 PM

Shorten from the waste - interesting!!! Never thought of that. I'm not sure how to do that when there is a waste band and a zipper (probably can't be done under those circumstances, huh?).