Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Bernina:350PE (Sewing Machine)
Viewed 1586 time(s)
8 more reviews for this machine
Review rated Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:alaskapsych
photo
About alaskapsych
Member since: 4/22/12
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/24/13 3:46 PM
Approx price paid:$1000
Had this machine for:2 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Bernina 350PEFeatures
  • Computerized
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
I am in LOVE! It is a beautiful sewing machine. I have even sewn leather (not vinyl) with it and it sailed through like sewing butter!

It is a beautiful machine with a quality stitch product.

Troubleshooting:
I haven't found anything yet except maybe I think I would prefer the buttonhole maker to be one that you drop the button in the back and it automatically programs the sewing machine to create the buttonhole. However, with this machine, you create one buttonhole and can keep making them exactly the same as long as you don't turn off the machine. When you are making buttonholes, you rather have to have the time to do all at once. (PLEASE NOTE: I was reading the manual and it says that two buttonhole programs may be saved, one regular one keyhole, so this info may be incorrect.)

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
*Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Thanks for your information! I like these machines! :)
10/24/13 7:17 PM
KPM said...
Yes, these are well built little guys with the features you want from Bernina, except they don't come with the foot control that raises and lowers the needle. How do you like the interface?
10/24/13 7:31 PM
idln said...
The foot control from my Bernina 200/730 fits my 350PE, and provides the needle raise/lower function. As part of a trade-in, I got an extra foot control, so I don't have to switch back and forth between the machines. I, too, love, the 350. Stitches well, solid construction, most of the basic features of its big sister, with a nice variety of practical and decorative stitches.
10/24/13 10:10 PM
alaskapsych said...
KPM--Mine came with the knee lift, is that the feature you are talking about? It was a bonus with the sale at the local store. And I'm not sure what you mean by interface? I'm a little ignorant having not taken the "class" yet that comes with the machine.
10/25/13 12:47 PM
KPM said...
Yes, they do have the knee lift. But the foot control provided doesn't have the "heel tap" feature that even the older models had. So you end up borrowing from another model or buying a new one if you want that important feature. By interface, I just meant how you choose stitches and their length and width and other settings. Each model seems to have its specific layout.
10/25/13 1:42 PM
alaskapsych said...
KPM, Oh, thank you for clarifying. I didn't realize that was a feature about the heel tap. I don't know that I would use that much, in fact I haven't used the foot control much at all. I have been using the on/off switch on the front. Regarding interface, this is the first computerized sewing machine I have ever used, so I can't really speak to it comparatively. So far, I find it to be functional. I'm not a mega seamstress, I only sew for fun. I wish I had more time to sew, but alas work gets in the way! I hope I have answered your questions. Thanks to all for responding to my post.
10/27/13 1:38 AM
LindaVee said...
Hey Alaskapsych, thanks for posting this review. I just started sewing on my 350 PE, good to know you're loving yours. A question: you say you use the on/off switch instead of the foot control. How hard was this to get used to, and what benefits do you enjoy from it? I hadn't thought of re-training myself to use it until you mentioned it, now I'm really curious!
10/28/13 0:46 AM
alaskapsych said...
LindaVee, I am not a mega sewist. However, I used to be. Boy, the world of sewing has CHANGED! Anyway the job I had previously, I drove about 40,000 miles a year. As a result, my hip muscles are needing constant attention on the right side (the foot control side), so using the on/off switch on the front has been a major blessing. I frankly rarely even plug the foot control in. I think if I were doing some seriously tedious sewing rather than patchworky kinds of things, I'd use it more, but even then I switch off feet (per advice from my chiropractor). I truly love my new sewing machine. I am thrilled to have gotten it (new) at the price I did. The local store kicked in a few extra items such as the knee lift, a walking foot and a rather shoddy roller bag, but hey, it was part of the package. And I got all that for right at $1000. I also have a class available to me regarding using the Bernina, also included in the sale price. Also, the lady who sold it to me said that this is the machine she recommends to people like me who are either A) new to sewing or B) returning to sewing, which was my case. I had been a serious sewist years ago, but when my mom died unexpectedly ten years ago, I quit sewing and threw out most of her sewing stuff and mine. However, my now adult daughters gave me a sweet little Brother a couple of summers ago and I have been overjoyed rediscovering sewing. But I feel like some old grey mare, the knowledge base is so much more sophisticated than when I quit.
10/28/13 8:01 PM
uripides said...
I am considering getting this machine, or getting a straight stitch one. I seldom need to zig-zag, and I can use my current 30+ year old Riccar for that. A cool feature I had seen back then on Berninas, which at the time could not afford was the long basting stitch. How long is the longest stitch on a 350PE?
11/10/13 10:43 PM
alaskapsych said...
Hi, Uripides, I am not sure what the actual stitch length is, but it goes up to #5 according to the manual. Sadly my machine is in New Jersey and I am in Alaska otherwise I'd sew something and measure it. I hope that helps.
11/18/13 9:25 PM
Fewk said...
I just bought the 350 PE a week ago and I love it. I have a 780, which is a wonderful machine, and the 580, also a great machine, but I wanted a machine for classes (or maybe just an excuse to buy another machine 0). It is a sturdy little work horse and has all the features I could want in a back up machine. I got the foot control that raises and lowers the needle (couldn't be without it). This is a user friendly machine because of it's simplicity but it also has some nice extras including a semi auto threader, start/start button, and LED lighting. I love the smaller feed dogs which allow for a perfect 1/4" seam and it comes with a walking foot - bonus!!! Congratulations on a great choice of machine.
11/23/13 10:28 AM
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Brother PC-8500
photo
Review by Lisa B on 11/17/02
Read Review

Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7409 Pattern
Burda 7409 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Brother NX-600
photo
Review by Heat on 6/19/06
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lucy Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us