Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Singer:14T968DC (Serger)
Viewed 736 time(s)
4 more reviews for this machine
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:MinaLMcGrady
photo
Friend of PR
About MinaLMcGradystar
OH USA
Member since: 11/6/13
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/14/13 9:30 AM
Approx price paid:$500
Had this machine for:June 2013
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Singer :14T968DC (Serger) by MinaLMcGrady

Features
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • 5 Thread Serger
  • Differential Feed
  • Coverstitch
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Well, I love that this serger has a the cover stitch feature and the flat lock feature. Well, I love all the features of this machine, but those just aforementioned more specifically.
Now, this machine is an upgrade from my Brother 1034D (BTW a great serger for beginners or first time serger). I thought threading this machine would be so hard, but its not. Once you read your manual and familiarize yourself with your machine, you are good to go. However, just reading the manual is not enough. You will need to print out the workbook (or, I also view it on my Ipad in color), as the workbook gives you step-by-step instructions for each stitch that you may want achieve. Use your manual to get familiar with the parts of your machine and when done with that, use the workbook to get started.

I haven't tried every stitch just yet- I am basically just using my 4 thread stitch with safety stitch- this is a great feature because you don't have to use your sewing machine along with this feature.

I know this isn't much information, but my advice would be to read your manual to get to know your machine, then open your workbook up and practice the different stitches- this way you will become comfortable with your machine and threading will be so much easier, as it has become with me.

Troubleshooting:
I guess I really don't have any dislikes about this machine. The only thing I totally disliked, but it didn't have anything to do with the machine is: When I got my machine, I unpacked it and set it up and I took my time reading the manual and etc (learning my machine), once threaded it, it wouldn't chain off. After calling Singer for assistance, it was determined that there was a problem with my machine and I had to have it shipped to an authorized Singer dealer to be fixed. WELL, straight out of the box, never used and something is already wrong with it AND not to mention my 90day warranty had expired!!! (i really took my time, huh?) However, because I was only a week past my 90day warranty Singer extended it for me, but that was after my 2nd call in because I was furious that I had spent a little over $500 on a machine that didn't work and thought I would have to spend extra money to get it fixed! However, shipped it to the authorized dealer, it took about 1.5 weeks to remedy the problem, now my serger is working and I have been sewing with it. But, I still live with the fact that a brand new serger had to be fixed before I even used it, this makes me feel a little violated, and does have me on edge when using it, because I'm always thinking I was sent a refurbished machine, but everything is working ok now.

12/10/13- update: I'm still loving my machine, however, I have to admit that I do not like the rolled hem feature on this machine. It simple just looks like a regular serged seam. Also, the stitches with the safety stitch (3 or 4 thread with safety stitch) you shouldn't have to use a sewing machine, but I am finding that the safety stitch is not strong enough.. I've tried to adjust the tension, but the seams still seem to pull away easily. Still learning my machine. I will try my best updating along the way to give others a better review if this machine is on your list for possible purchase.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
*Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
It does happen. My iMac, out of the box first day - dead motherboard. Fixed in three days, never a problem since - so it happens with anything. I felt awful, but they fixed it - and that's that a couple of years later....:) ENJOY your serger! You'll love serging!
11/14/13 11:05 AM
Pj3g said...
I've had mine for a few years now and I think it is really sturdy and stitches perfectly. So I hope yours will be trouble free for years to come. You can get clear feet for this machine at Joann Fabrics. Just read that thread that comes up for part numbers of the feet. I like all the clear feet--especially the clear coverstitch foot! Enjoy your machine!
11/14/13 7:35 PM
joycea said...
I guess I'm surprised that the 90 day warranty was up..Did you wait to unpack it? I know when I went to a serger class some people had had there sergers for 2 to 3 years and never tried them until that class..Unfortunately things may go wrong out of the box..
11/14/13 11:34 PM
jeans1 said...
I had the exact serger for about 4 years now; never used it. I am so afraid, but don't exactly know why. I tried to thread it, but it wouldn't work right, so I put it away. So, now that I am back to sewing again, I am truly going to read the manual slowly.....and work it step by step. Please give me luck...jean..
11/15/13 4:28 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Thanks for this review. I've been considering upgrading to this machine and I too have been uneasy about it. Mostly because it has that fifth thread. I read the online manual that Singer provides and it's pretty thorough. When I bought my last serger, I had it out of the box the day it was delivered--I was that anxious. Hopefully you didn't have to pay shipping to the authorized dealer.
11/26/13 8:22 AM
MinaLMcGrady said...
Miss Fairchild- unfortunately, yes I did have to pay to have it shipped to the dealer -approx $20ish dollars. but they will ship it back for free compliments of Singer.
12/2/13 0:43 AM
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Singer 14T967DC
photo
Review by sixcatster... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Jalie 2570 Pattern
Jalie 2570 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5587 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5587 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bernina 1230
photo
Review by sewbarbie on 11/11/06
Read Review

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us