Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Singer:CG550-C (Sewing Machine)
Viewed 723 time(s)
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:zanylady
photo
Friend of PR
About zanyladystar
MD USA
Member since: 5/6/09
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
sewing machines reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/13 4:54 PM
Had this machine for:1 month
Recommended? Maybe
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Singer CG550-CFeatures
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Lady gave it to me, she was ready to throw it in the dumpster. Tension is a pain, lots of bird's nest in the bobbin area.

It is Singer's idea of a heavy duty home machine that is almost a commercial. It has a heavy duty 1.6 amp motor and will go thru anything you can fit under the presser foot (when it is working right)

It is a gray all metal machine with most of the innards metal as well.
It has 10 stitches and they were quite good. It has a drop in bobbin that is plastic. I am not sure if I can use a metal one, that might be the problem with the tension.

It is heavy but not as heavy as the vintage machines.

Troubleshooting:
The problems with the tension. It will sew OK for a while than I get a bird's nest. Lots of research on the web and apparently the problem can often be resolved with expensive thread. Am not going to any stores this weekend but will hit Joann's on Monday.

Will update after I try the "expensive" thread.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
*Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
I hope your problems resolve, but what thread is that that you will need? :)
11/30/13 8:00 PM
dbsewer said...
Sounds like it needs to get a good cleaning and tune-up. Take it to a good mechanic and you may find that you have a great machine without buying expensive thread.
12/1/13 8:44 AM
MartiP said...
The problem may be with the bobbin case if it is scratched or marred in any way, or if there is a barb on the point of the hook. This is usually an inexpensive fix you can do yourself.
12/1/13 11:26 AM
bestgrammy said...
Singer plastic class 66 bobbins are the bobbins for the CG-550...maybe the ones with it are not class 66...maybe your friend who gave you this machine had gotten some class 15 bobbins instead. Also...I had some Singer class 66 bobbins that were slightly too small for the bobbin case. It was the correct bobbin case (Apollo) and the bobbins were in Singer packaging but those bobbins rattled and jumped and stitching was poor. Later I ordered some bobbins described as Genuine Singer bobbins...and those fit very well and sew very well. The too small class 66 Singer bobbins are plain plastic with no wording imprinted on them...but the ones stated as Genuine have the name Singer imprinted on them. I don't know why Singer is making class 66 bobbins that are too small...but glad the ones imprinted Singer on them do fit.
12/2/13 6:30 AM
beauturbo said...
It uses a normal plastic Singer Apollo bobbin case and plastic class 66 bobbins like all the other old Singers just much like it. Even though in the instruction book for it, visually, they continually show a bobbin with flat flanges on it visually instead. I have no idea why. I don't think more expensive thread would make much difference. When you get that birds nest though, I think it's really probably your top threading. I don't like that kind of top threading on new or old machines much just myself actually. So I just ignore the way you are supposed to do it, and make up a new way to do it instead. Works for me! Rather than having top thread just loosely pass through the silver guide on the top with the bobbin thread winding tensioning button on top of it, I would prefer my top thread to be around that bobbin thread tensioner or at least passing through one side of it. More top tension on the thread that way, and I feel more controlable and less likely to get birdsnesting from it in the bobbin case later. I'm odd man out on that though, but maybe at least just try it that way too, as maybe you might like that better too. Or not. You never know until you try though.
12/2/13 8:25 PM
sewinggal1 said...
I'd like to hear if you got this machine working properly, can you give us an update? I was looking at it today online and its a decent price, unlike most machines. At the Home Shopping network its just under $300 plus tax. Actually, looks like its a higher model on the HSN. It has a lot more stitches, but still, in the same line.
1/4/14 10:59 PM
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Singer 7426
photo
Review by mimisatin on 9/23/08
Read Review

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Singer 6038
photo
Review by Nancy Sutt... on 11/21/02
Read Review

Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 6030 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3491 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Butterick 3491 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us