Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric

Janome:9900 (Sewing Machine)
Viewed 1435 time(s)
1 more reviews for this machine
Review rated Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Sandygirl
photo
About Sandygirl
IL USA
Member since: 8/18/10
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/9/13 9:34 PM
Approx price paid:$4000
Had this machine for:1 weeek
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Janome 9900Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • Adjustable Needle Position
  • Embroidery Machine
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
I bought the Janome 9900 to replace/upgrade from the Janome 9700 I purchased in 2005. I love my Janome 9700 but I was getting frustrated with the embroidery function which I felt that I had outgrown. I rarely used it (embroidery) anymore. Earlier this year I set a goal to replace my machine with a machine with more current features. Janome 9900 was introduced earlier this year. Originally, when I first saw it at a dealer, I also saw the Brother Dreamweaver combo. For a few months I was smitten by the DW but eventually came back to reality in regard to the price of one and the fact that I really do love the Janome brand. Comparing the features of the 9700 to the 9900 to the Horizon 12000 (also beyond my budget), on the Janome site, I came to the conclusion that I could get a new Janome combo in my general price range while enjoying the features I craved. Color screen, on screen editing, USB port, auto thread clipper, needle-down; just a few of the features I wanted my next machine to have. I do feel that I had to compromise on getting a longer harp space in order to keep my budget in check. The Janome 9900 harp is about an inch longer than my 9700 and also taller. Since I rarely FMQ on my machines, I could live with not getting the larger space. Getting back to machine embroidery was my goal over FMQ.
What I love is that I have a machine that fits my current sewing table. I did not want to have to buy a new table to fit the larger TOL machines. The Janome 9900 operates similarly to my 9700 so the learning curve is shorter. I was not sure that I would like the removable embroidery unit which is one reason I chose Janome over other brands when I purchased my 9700. I did not want to deal with the large embroidery unit that the other brands are so fond of offering. The one for my 9900 just slides on the back of the machine and it can stay there if I choose to do so. Otherwise, it is compact and has a storage case for it for when I remove it allowing me to drop the machine into the table hole that allows it to be flush with the table top. I LOVE the embroidery hoops with the magnetic clamps. Wow! I really feel that it is a more solid, stable hoop. I did one test design and loved the result. The auto thread cutter works great and snips the jump stitches. No more having to go back to snip them. That is a pain! The embroidery is beautiful. I canít wait to work with it for my next project.
The sewing quality is very nice, as I expected with Janome. It has plenty of decorative stitches. 9mm too! The bobbin winder operates separate from the threading. No need to unthread the machine to wind the bobbin. The color screen is very nice and the categories of stitches, designs, and monograms is esp. helpful. What I find fun are the removable screen faceplates. There are three; teal, red and standard white. Just slide your favorite color on!

Troubleshooting:
I realize that my review is based on having this machine just over a week. But so far I am very happy with my decision to buy the Janome 9900. If anything comes up that I find to be a negative, I will update my review. For now, I am happy.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
*Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KPM said...
This is a lovely machine at a really decent price, so I'm glad to hear your first impressions. It has just about everything, including the ability to change color. And that new throat plate converter - how do you like that?
12/9/13 10:04 PM
Sandygirl said...
The throat plate converter will be a new habit to get into. But it is not a big deal. Just push the release and it pops up. Snapping the plate down into place takes some effort. Maybe it will loosen up some. You also have to change out the drop in bobbin holder too. And, yes, the price is decent. Sandy
12/9/13 10:10 PM
Sandygirl said...
Oh, I forgot to mention, i did not "test sew" on my new machine. After watching my dealer demonstrate the features on the machine ....I was hooked. I had also watched the 33 minute video on this machine prior to walking into the dealer to pick it up. I knew Janome would sew just fine. Had I strayed from the Brand, of course I would have sat down for a test sew. ;)
12/10/13 6:21 AM
Mufffet said...
Excellent review. Thanks! Sounds like Janome did a really good job on this machine!
12/10/13 10:19 AM
joycea said...
I considered this machine but ended up with the Brother Duetta 2. Looks like a nice machine. I did have a Janome MC 10001 and just did not care for it for whatever reason so I sold it and bought the brother.
12/10/13 10:07 PM
Sandygirl said...
Joycea, i always hear great things about the Brother machines. Thank goodness we all have choices to find our special machines.
12/11/13 6:45 AM
erinsluck said...
I'm beginning to think we are all so different in the way our bodies and minds work that you really have to search to find your "sew mate" Pardon the awful pun (smile). I too bought this machine and have gone nuts because I had company and then got sick and haven't gotten to use it. Gotta wind bobbins and make sure I thread it quickly as I have a free motion class Sat. I bought the Sew Mate adjustable table and wow will I have some nice space. Because the machine is "square" much easier to adjust the table and this will give me fantastic space. Can't wait and will report back. I wanted a machine that I could lift without breaking my back that still was wonderful and think this is it. The folders are intuitive and easy to find things. I spent most of the demo time with my mouth open as the dealer showed me one cool thing after the other. My only gripe is that Janome needs to do better materials like the Babylock inspiration guides to adequate show this wonderful machine off.
12/11/13 10:15 AM
Sandygirl said...
I love my Janome 9900! I sewed double faced binding on a tablerunner. Two layers of quilting cotton, on layer of fusible fleece and four fabric layers of the binding. Sweet! Smooth. No issues. I sew slower when sewing over layers . I used the standard foot. My new walking foot for this machine is on order. Very happy.
12/20/13 7:28 AM
erinsluck said...
Sandy, is this binding you bought or made. I am considering buying the quilting kit if it is available. Dealer says you don't need it but Janome Canada swears by it for their other machines.
12/27/13 10:30 AM
candlemoon said...
Thank you for the review. I have looked at this machine to purchase and it is helpful to have this review.
1/11/14 4:48 PM
Sandygirl said...
In response to Erinsluck, no, I did not buy the binding attachment. I just sewed it on like normal. I make my bindings. No problems. EMBROIDERY. I have been playing with In The Hoop (ITH) embroidery all day today. Having a ball! Love the stitching and I have NOT had any thread breaks! I love the stable embroidery hoop. Like the hoops that came with my Janome 9700' these hoops have the screw to tighten . The hoops that come with the 9900 have added the hoop clamps. No more hoops that disengage when you take it off to change bobbins, etc. I also love the embroidery attachment that sits behind the sewing bed. The on screen prompts are so much nicer than my old machine too. There are some great decorative stitches and I love that there is a 1/4" seam stitch in the "Quilting" category on this machine. Used with the 1/4" foot....perfect! Still very happy with my purchase after almost two months. Always learning something new. Sandy
1/12/14 7:58 PM
Sandygirl said...
BTW, I use my machine to piece quilt tops, i make purses ...sewing thru multiple layers of fabric and fusible fleece...no problem for this machine. Embroidery...working on ITH technique for a project I just started. Sweet!
1/14/14 9:12 PM
Sandygirl said...
I must be the only person who purchased this machine. I am the only review on it.
1/15/14 7:35 PM
erinsluck said...
Sandygirl ---- I love this machine too. Its a shame more people haven't tried it. I think it would really make some people's day to have something fun, well made and chock full of features.
1/23/14 12:09 PM
Sandygirl said...
KPM, i discivered that if you dont have the correct throat plate in place, the 9900 will not budge. Example: I had benn embroidering and changed the sewing selection to regular sewing. The machine would not operate. Then the light bulb moment went off and I remembered to put the sewing throat plate on. Worked! Saved me a catastrophe of trying to use decorative stitches with a throat plate designed for embroidery. Whhew! Amazing what they think of to save you from yourself! So, no, using the two throat plates/bobbin holders is no a big deal. Sandy
2/6/14 7:10 AM
cochrancl said...
I just bought the 9900 in December and haven't had a chance yet to use it a lot. But I have gone to a few classes at my local shop. So far I love it and the embroidery is so much fun and so easy.
2/13/14 3:33 PM
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Euro Pro 8135H Pro-Stitch

Review by knitlitcam... on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1673 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1673 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1597 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1597 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Janome 423S
photo
Review by Jules/Vanc... on 8/12/03
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us