SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Viking> 960

Viewed 1261 time(s)
Reviewed by:BrendaJoyce
photo
Friend of PR
About BrendaJoycestar
TX USA
Member since: 2/11/12
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
sewing machines reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/14 10:06 AM
Approx price paid:$2200
Had this machine for:2 days
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Viking 960Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.I have been researching this machine for quite some time. I checked it out online, watching tutorials on youtube and sewingmastery.com. I wanted a top of the line sewing machine but not one with embroidery. I have a stand alone embroidery machine so I didn't need to spend the extra money on that function. I was looking for good lighting, auto foot lifter, auto thread cutting and an easy to understand format. I got all of it with this machine. The only thing I'm having to get used to is the touch screen. I kinda like having buttons to push but that's just me. The screen is bright and colorful and easy to navigate. If you have trouble, there is also a help function tab to help you figure out what you need to know. It's kind of like having the manual embedded in the computer system so you don't have to get up and find your book.

Was the machine manual sufficient?The manual is easy to understand and navigate. There is also an online step by step tutorial on sewingmastery.com. It's great!!!

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?I got the extension table and walking foot thrown in. I haven't used them, yet, but I definitely will. It also came with a straight stitch plate, which didn't with my #1+ and it's no longer available. I haven't been able to find one on ebay, either, so I'm glad to have it for sewing lightweight fabrics and silks. It came with lots of feet included. I haven't tried the automatic buttonholer, yet. I didn't have very good luck with that on my #1+ so I'm anxious to try this one. If there is a problem, I will update this review. Right now I use a cast iron old Singer with the buttonholer attachment. It makes perfect buttonholes each and every time, where the computer on my #1+ had unexpected glitches. Hopefully, all that has been rectified with this new machine.

Is this your primary machine?This will be my primary machine. I also have the #1+, my first top of the line machine that my husband bought for me 20 years ago. Also an excellent machine that I will continue to use.

Did you take any classes specifically for this machine?
Didn't need classes, it is very user friendly if you have some knowledge of computerized sewing machines.
Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?We bought this machine brand new at Suddenly Sewing in Fort Worth, Texas. I highly, highly recommend this store. The saleswoman was very nice, extremely helpful and not at all pushy. They definitely have my continued support to buy more stuff from them and possibly take some classes. They offer enough classes to make every sewist happy.

How often do you use it?I will be using this machine daily. It has a huge harp for quilting, which I don't do, but plan to. I do mostly garment sewing, makeup bags, book bags and purses. I also have made cancer caps for my mother, who has breast cancer but is doing well. She has her hair back!

Would you recommend this machine to others?Highly recommend. Never had a problem with Husqvarna Viking products. I also have a top of the line older model serger. Never had a problem with it, either. As a side note, some of the dealers that sell Viking products were honoring a sale that Viking offered, selling the sewing machine that was the next step down called the 930. If you traded in an old one, no matter how old and beat up, not working, etc, you could get one for $1299, regular price $1900 (I think). Anyway, at Joann's, someone had traded in a very cheap toy sewing machine and they did accept it as a trade in. Today is March 31, 2014 and I think it's the last day of the sale. I'm sure there will be more so, fyi.

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.No problems so far but I've only had this machine 2 days. If I have a problem, I will update this review.

Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?This machine will only need the bobbin case cleared of lint and debris every few projects.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
Nice machine! I hope it serves you well for a long time! Thanks for an enjoyable review.
3/31/14 10:42 AM
ISewISew said...
Thank you very much. I appreciated the information about the straight plate. I'm extremely happy to hear your mother is doing well!!! The caps, made with love, were a great help to her. It was outstanding of you.
3/31/14 10:49 PM
Artsewer said...
Sounds like a really nice machine. I wish you many years of happy sewing on it.
4/1/14 11:47 AM
tgm and Kittys said...
Just wondered, how heavy is the sm? It looks large in the photo. I hope you really love sewing with it. I think it is pretty.
4/3/14 3:21 PM
BrendaJoyce said...
It's a big machine but not overly heavy. My older model machines are all heavier. I have a couple of vintage machines that I can barely lift but I had no trouble lifting this machine by the handle. When it was in the big box, my husband did have to carry it for me.
4/5/14 12:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Viking #1 (1200)

photo
by: dbsewer

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now
Viking Emerald 183

photo
by: Imaan

Review
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.