SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Janome> Magnolia 7330

5 more reviews
Viewed 1238 time(s)
Reviewed by:madssews
photo
About madssewsstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/4/13
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/14 9:06 AM
(Updated: 4/8/14 9:07 AM)
Had this machine for:9 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Janome Magnolia 7330Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine.
My first impression was that the decal featured two of my least-favorite colors: pink and yellow! =) But once I started looking at the important things, my first impression was that this was a very nice machine that would probably be easy for me to use. I also noticed how many features and stitches it had, many of which have come in handy.

Was the machine manual sufficient?
Yep! I had it up and running in a few minutes, and have made 4 complete projects on it in addition to several muslins/UFOs.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them?
I bought a binding foot, but haven't used it yet. One thing I really love about this machine is the relative affordability of many accessories that I think I may buy someday.

Is this your primary machine?
Yes. I have a Brother as well, but no longer use it.

Did you take any classes specifically for this machine?
I won this machine in a raffle (yes, really!) and part of my prize was a one-on-one class at the quilting shop that donated the machine for the drawing; I was taught what each stitch does, how to clean the machine, and many other things.

Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc?
A gift/prize. Yay!

How often do you use it?
Every single time I sew. At this point, that's about once per month if I am lucky, but I have put some hours on it since I got it late last summer. =)

Would you recommend this machine to others?
Absolutely. It's easy enough for a beginner to use, but has enough features and capabilities that I don't feel like I'm sewing with a toy that I have outgrown. The quality seems to be good, and the computerized factor makes it pretty user-friendly. Since I did not buy this machine, I cannot vouch for the price point, but I'm sure it's worth it!

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate.
I was threading it incorrectly for quite a while; I chalk that up to me being very inexperienced and not understanding diagrams and instructions exactly. Miraculously, the machine sewed without a serious issue during that time. I received quite a correction from the teacher at the quilting shop, believe me! =) I had been pulling the thread around the metal "button" like I did for bobbin winding, but was supposed to pull it under the plastic piece under that "button" for sewing. Now I know!

Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How?
Yes. I clean it after each project by taking out the bobbin and brushing out the assembly with a clean makeup brush. Since I do not have a cover for it, I wipe it down with a clean, soft cloth to remove dust or dirt (or pet hair!) every so often.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
It's easy to make a nice cover! Get some double-sided pre-quilted fabric at JAs on sale and measure your machine and make a cover....I fold the fabric and then hold it up to the machine and mark half way around the sides, add a twitch for seaming, then sew up the sides, turn inside out, sew corners, put it on the machine and fit for hemming, hem and there ya go - and they are SO nice! Thanks for a nice review - I love the looks of your machine - so cheery! Especially in the drab winter-Spring sort of overcast. :) Yellow and pink are two of my all time fav colors. ;) Happy sewing on your Janome! What a wonderful thing to win!
4/8/14 12:31 PM
SewNSewGrandma said...
Congratulations on winning this machine and thank you for reviewing it! You'll have many years of wonderful sewing on this machine. I love Janome machines and am glad to hear that you keep her clean. That's the secret to trouble-free sewing in my experience.
4/8/14 4:09 PM
SewLibra said...
That's a pretty machine and you wrote a great review. These machines are popular and I see them sell for $399 online. Congrats and I hope you continue to love it!
4/9/14 0:29 AM
Texastopaz said...
My daughter-in-law bought this machine a few years ago (mostly for me to use when I visit) and I agree, it's a nice machine. You wrote a good review. I hope that you enjoy it for many years.
4/9/14 2:31 PM
Texastopaz said...
My daughter-in-law bought this machine a few years ago (mostly for me to use when I visit) and I agree, it's a nice machine. You wrote a good review. I hope that you enjoy it for many years.
4/9/14 2:31 PM
bestgrammy said...
Thank you for your review...it was indeed helpful and I'm so happy you were the winner of this machine. It's not specifically in Janome manuals...but be sure to use only plastic bobbins in this machine as it has a magnetized bobbin system and metal bobbins will mess with that...might even ruin it. Real Janome plastic bobbins will work best.
4/9/14 6:58 PM
SewPerfect said...
Great review! What a nice prize, bet you were in heaven that day! :) Janome is a quality brand, I've never owned one but many in my quilt guild have them. I found that Walmart is selling this same machine but with a different look, and for only $299! They have as: Janome 30-Stitch Sewing Machine, JW7630 - I ordered one the other day for my daughter who is in college, she found she *misses* having a machine at her disposal when she needs to mend something. I'm secretly hoping she will become really interested in more than just mending, then I can haul her to the shows and fabric stores with me LOL! Happy sewing!
4/10/14 10:29 PM
madssews said...
Thank you all for such kind comments!
4/22/14 9:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Janome DC2013

photo
by: poyma

Review
Janome 1200D Professional

photo
by: sewmysanit...

Review
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.