SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Sewing Machine Reviews> Pfaff> Passport 2.0

9 more reviews
Viewed 1673 time(s)
Reviewed by:Phigabe
photo
Friend of PR
About Phigabestar
MD United States
Member since: 6/25/13
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
sewing machines reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/11/14 9:32 PM
(Updated: 4/12/14 10:37 PM)
Approx price paid:$450
Had this machine for:9 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Pfaff Passport 2.0Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • One step buttonhole
  • Drop-In bobbin
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • Adjustable Needle Position
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
Tell us about your first impression when you used this machine. Speed control is awesome! Great lighting.

Was the machine manual sufficient? No. More like a brochure. Very basic info. I did take several sewing classes (hat, skirt) using my Singer 401a with table given by my mother-in-law years ago and have previously made curtains for my home.

Did you buy any accessories? Do you use them? Yes. Bought the extension table. Got into quilting and bought the darning foot, quarter inch with guide, and quarter inch without guide. The last one is very accurate. Cannot use stitch in ditch foot because it pops off each time you lift the foot to pivot (needle screw hits it on the guide). The documentation does say you have to half-lift (did not notice that fine print when I bought it).

Is this your primary machine? Yes.

Did you take any classes specifically for this machine? No.

Was this a gift/pre-owned/garage sale etc? Bought at a quilt show. Was a show special used in one class (saved $50). A Pfaff at an affordable price.

How often do you use it? Once a week.

Would you recommend this machine to others? Yes. Very lightweight, great for classes. Built in walking foot is handy and changing feet is easy.

Troubleshooting:
Have you had any trouble with this machine? Please elaborate. Bobbin thread is sometimes tricky to pull up; it does not catch properly and takes several tries. Also difficult to remove plate...screws and angle of screwdriver is tight. Found a 1.5" screwdriver and now much easier. My old Singer has a pop-up plate. The "play/stop" button is next to reverse button and I keep accidentally hitting the wrong one.

Do you do regular maintenance on this machine? How? Yes, after every sew. Use a brush and small vacuum.

Other thoughts? Free arm is wider than most machines this size. This is perfect for travel, easy to set up. Just fits in a medium Tutto bag, which has great organized storage. Needle up/down with quick tap on pedal is handy (I prefer this over the button). I had thought I was upgrading from the Singer (free arm, speed control, needle up/down, walking foot). Since I am now getting into quilting, I am preferring my old singer for the actual quilting because it has the deeper throat space.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
JanyceR said...
Thank you for your detailed review. The details you have provided are very helpful. I keep looking at this machine.
4/12/14 7:52 AM
dbsewer said...
Wow, you got a great price on this little machine. I've been looking at one for travel and my dealer wants $750 with the extension table. I only test drove it, but it's a nice machine and, something I didn't see in your review, it has more built-in stitches than any other travel machine on the market.
4/12/14 10:12 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for this review. Interesting details. You are correct in that it is not really an upgrade from a 401!!!!! ;) But a nice travel machine! Nice to have IDT. I would ask your dealer about that foot popping off though.
4/12/14 1:09 PM
twistedpoppy said...
I also have this machine and a 401. I love this machine, it's been my most reliable one to date, love the IDT. I too occasionally hit the stop/start button when going for reverse but that may be my only complaint about this machine. I don't sew quilts just garments. This machine also makes nice neat buttonholes compared to other new machines I've tried but not as nice as my 401 with buttonhole attachment
4/12/14 9:43 PM
Cat n Bull said...
You did get a great price!I have one for travel, I love the way it sews. You do not need to pull up bobbin threads in this machine to start sewing, the way you have to with the older machines. That's why it's just a small piece left when you cut it after changing a bobbin. Just start to sew!
4/13/14 12:07 PM
Phigabe said...
I will have to try that (just start sewing and not pull up bobbin). I am making a list of features in the ideal machine (Brother Dream series is looking pretty nice!) and hoping that is in my future.
4/13/14 6:08 PM
speattle said...
I have this machine too, and I love it! Very easy to operate and has a decent selection of interesting stitches.
4/15/14 0:00 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
These have a nice modern design to them, very chic. Shame about the design flaw resulting in presser feet popping off when pivoting, that will be very annoying not to be able to pivot if you want to use the presser foot you mentioned, without it popping off. Did you find any other feet this happens with?
4/16/14 1:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Pfaff Pfaff Select 4.0

photo
by: iSewQuiltA...

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Buy Now
Pfaff Smarter C1100 Pro

photo
by: Ody

Review
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.