SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Sewing Machine Reviews> Brother> 2340CV

20 more reviews
Viewed 1247 time(s)
Reviewed by:NhiHuynh
photo
About NhiHuynhstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/4/11
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
sewing machines reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/14 7:44 PM
(Updated: 4/15/14 12:52 PM)
Approx price paid:$350
Had this machine for:2 years
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Brother 2340CVFeatures
  • Computerized
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Presser Foot Pressure
  • 3 Thread Serger
  • 4 Thread Serger
  • Differential Feed
  • Coverstitch
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
The machine
This is a cover stitch machine which is primarily used to hem knits. If you look at the hems and cuffs of your RTW tee, you'll likely see a cover stitch. It looks like a twin needle on top and serged stitch at the bottom. I have also used it to topstitch. You can baste with the chain stitch. I'm sure there's more uses I haven't thought of yet.

Stitches
The machine sews 4 different stitches: triple cover stitch, twin narrow cover stitch, twin wide cover stitch and chain stitch. I use the twin narrow the most but like having the other stitch options.

Watch Outs
The manual tension release is the complaint I hear often about this machine. It takes extra steps to release the fabric. I also had a hard time with the pressure foot lift on the right side. I'm use to it being behind the foot like on all of the machines I've ever owned or used. Lastly, the harp space is small so it takes some maneuvering in some cases. All-in-all, these watch outs don't really bother me. It might be a deal breaker for others so that's why I'm pointing them out.

Conclusion
I use my machine a lot because I sew mostly knits. It is a bit of a splurge, but I don't regret it for a second. If you want to see pics of the stitches and more details on the machine, please hop on over to my blog. In case I screwed up on the link: www.detectivehoundstooth.com/brothers-2340cv/

Troubleshooting:
I haven't had problems with the machine yet. Mostly problems are user error related.

Tension
For each of my finished project I keep a small index card with the pattern, size I used, fabric sample and machine settings. This way I usually find something similar and use those settings as a starting point.

Unpicking
It's not uncommon for me to sew wobbly hems or miss catching the hem edge in the stitch. I can now unpick a cover stitch super quick. Tutorial here http://www.detectivehoundstooth.com/unpicking/

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MartiP said...
Thanks for the review! I have this machine also, and I just turn the tension dials to "0" to release the tension.
4/13/14 8:11 PM
SewLibra said...
Congrats on your new coverstitch machine and your photos on your blog are awesome! I didn't know there were 3 needles on a coverstitch. I have the Brother 1034D serger, and I absolutely love the big handle on the right for the presser foot. I think it's a perk. You don't have to fit your hand in an awkward place to raise the foot. I think you will get used to it and like it too. Thanks for the review!
4/14/14 0:42 AM
NhiHuynh said...
MartiP, I'll have to try the 0 tension trick. Thanks for the tip. SewLibra, the Brother 2340CV and the Janome 1000CPX are the 2 cover stitch machines that I know have the 3 needles. I think the 2 needle is more common. Edited to add that the Babylock BLCS also has 3 needles.
4/14/14 3:20 AM
Mufffet said...
Thanks for a nice review of your coverstitch machine. It sounds terrific. :) I think it would be a great addition to the sewing room for most of us. I too love the big presser foot lifter on my 1034D! over time you get used to each machine's various machinations. :) Enjoy!
4/14/14 11:34 AM
Barbara Allino said...
Your review on your blog was great. Very clear, concise and fun! I loved your pics.
4/14/14 12:48 PM
Katedejong said...
Thank you for the great review! I am considering getting one. Very helpful!
4/23/14 8:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Brother NX-600

photo
by: Kathy328

Review
Brother PQ-1500

photo
by: quiltlady2

Review
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.