SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Sewing Machine Reviews> Bernina> 780

Viewed 1299 time(s)
Reviewed by:tearbear
photo
About tearbear
ON CANADA
Member since: 1/29/13
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Intermediate
sewing machines reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/18/14 9:37 PM
(Updated: 4/18/14 10:12 PM)
Approx price paid:$7500
Had this machine for:3 months
Recommended? Yes
Online Merchants:Amazon.com
Bernina 780Features
  • Computerized
  • Needle Threader
  • Needle Up/Down Setting
  • Embroidery Stitches
  • One step buttonhole
  • Free Arm
  • Adjustable Stitch Length and Width
  • Adjustable Needle Position
  • Embroidery Machine
  • Differential Feed
Find the right Sewing Machine with the Sewing Machine Search Wizard

Discuss Sewing Machines with PR members Sewing Machine Forum
Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Review:
I traded in my designer diamond for the bernina 780/ My diamond was giving me problems and there is minimal dealer support in Toronto, Canada. I was most impressed the ease of use of the 780. Its a no brainer compared to the diamond. Powerfull and fast. and embroiders like a dream. Looked at the bernina 880, but the bobbin mechanism is very problematic. That machine in the store brand new had to go back for repairs. I love the 78o. Very easy to use. Love the extra large bobbin. I also love the sleep feature. I can get up and leave my project, return a couple of hours later and go right back at it. It also came with the giant hoop as part of the price. The embroidery speed is a little frightening. Its extremely fast compared to the designer diamond. The manual is well laid out and easy to follow. The only additional purchase I've made is the multi spool thread holder, and I use it all the time. I do a lot of quilting and embroidering on this machine , This is my primary machine, but I have 2 mechanical berninas (old record and a bernina 730) as well as my Husqvarna Designer 1. This machine is so easy to use that I didn't need classes. (I did have classes though when I bought my Husqvarna and maybe that's why I didn't have any difficulties). I use this machine on a biweekly basis, as I still work full time. I love this machine. I even bought the Bernina software 7. Its easier to use then the Husqvarna embroidery professional 5 package. I would recommend this machine










Troubleshooting:
I perform regular maintenance on this machine after finishing my quilt or embroidery project. You tube has great videos for support. I take out the bobbin and remove the top thread plate. vacuum the dust and fiber away, oil and reassemble. It takes me 10 mins.

*LOGIN to add a comment to this review
* Only registered members can post comments to the reviews. Membership is free. if you are not a member, please Sign-up now!

6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lgrande said...
Wonderful! You bought a fantastic machine and it sounds as if it is a perfect fit for you. Thanks for reviewing it.
4/19/14 9:08 AM
Maia B said...
Thanks for the review and congrats!
4/19/14 11:07 AM
madhatress said...
One tiny correction: there are 2 Husqvarna dealers in Toronto/GTA. My dealer, Brampton sew n Serge, offers excellent support (but they aren't in Toronto proper). The other dealer is Sew here sew now in Scarborough. Anyway, I'm glad you're enjoying your 780
4/22/14 1:44 AM
Bluebonnet2 said...
Glad you love the 780! I love mine, too, and think it is so easy to learn. The lighting is so good, and the extra large harp makes it a dream to sew on.
5/3/14 4:07 AM
mua2 said...
Have the 780 but dealer is a 3 hour drive Have beenlooking at the viking ruby deluxe which is a lot less money and there is a local dealer. Don't know what to do! What problems did you have with your viking?
6/26/14 8:46 PM
Mollymax said...
Thanks for the review. I took in my older Bernina 165 embroidery machine for service and looked at this machine while I was there. I love the larger sewing area and the free arm embroidery capabilities. Do you like the new hook system? Was the $7500 price with trade-in?
7/14/14 5:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bernina 640E

photo
by: Sugar Pie ...

Review
Bernina Aurora 430

photo
by: retrotechg...

Review
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now
Add a Sewing Machine Review    Read All Sewing machine Reviews

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.