Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!  
Platinum Sponsor Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

137 members online


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Back to Contest Report    Add more items    Discuss with others

Progress Report for rubyintherough
Contest: Fabric Stash Contest 2013     Managed By: Sew Whatever

  Photo Pattern Used Points Items Made Yardage Used Description Last Updated
1 McCall's:Misses Casual Coordinates (Coordinates) 3 1.000 3.000 Third garment from this pattern. Second of the bottoms in green stretch denim that's been in the stash for years - I think it was purchased to be Maternity Overalls? Eee Gads! that would have been scary. 7/31/13 11:00 AM
2 McCall's:Misses Casual Coordinates (Coordinates) 2 1.000 2.000 Knee length pants / shorts. Elastic waist. Used a stretch denim that I've had in stash for at least 15 years. 7/28/13 8:35 PM
3 McCall's:Asymmetrical hem top (Tops) 3 1.000 2.500 Using some Hawaiian print cotton I've had in the stash for about 15 years. Very bright. I had hoped to get a top and shorts out of the piece, but it was about 3.5 yards, and not enough for both. The top took a lot more yardage than I was expecting, and I'm afraid it's because the "tunic" is more of a dress length. 7/24/13 4:30 PM
4 McCall's:Women's Tops, Dresses, Shorts (Tops) 1 1.000 1.750 A maternity top for my DD. Challenging to make it look right with the eyelet that she chose from my stash. Had to supplement with some plain poly-cotton sheeting for the linings and neck band and back side for the collar. 7/22/13 12:43 PM
5 Butterick: Maternity Tops, Shorts, Pants (Maternity) 2 1.000 1.875 Maternity top with gathering ties at empire line.
For DD.
7/15/13 11:14 AM
6 Simplicity:Jumper, Shirt dress (Coordinates) 2 1.000 2.250 I made the jumper in a basic black gabardine. 7/15/13 10:48 AM
7 New Look:Misses Tops (Tops) 2 1.000 2.000 The Tunic Top with Sleeve Flounce and square front neckline. In American Flag fabric that's been in the Stash for ? years. 7/9/13 11:03 AM
8 Self Drafted Pattern:Circular Wrap (Accessories) 2 1.000 1.750 This wrap is cut out as a circle with slits for the arms. The edges and arm slits are all finished with a tiny rolled hem. Since I used a fabric narrower than 60", I had to piece it to make it long/wide enough.
I don't know what to call the fabric. It's a cotton or poly sheer with solid stripes. It's very lightweight and breezy. If anyone knows what to call this fabric, let me know.
7/6/13 11:20 PM
9 Simplicity:Misses' Skirt, Pants (Shorts) 1 1.000 1.250 Shorts to wear around the house and test out what size I am right now. I know I'm a funny shape, but I also Discovered that I'm about a size 30, not a 24 which is the largest size on this pattern. So, I had to use every scrap of the fabric to get enough to make these shorts. More reasons to get on with my fitness program! 7/2/13 4:51 PM
10 No Pattern Used:Walker Tote Bag (Other) 1 1.000 1.000 A tote for my sweet Mother-in-Law. She fell on June 7, didn't break anything, but she's using a walker now. Just a very simple pocket with smaller pockets sewn to the outside of it and a couple loops on the top. Very colorful with huge buttons. 7/2/13 3:19 PM
11 Butterick:Misses Shirts (Tops) 1 1.000 1.000 Sleeveless shirt with a long back tail in light weight cotton blend to wear to work in the summer heat. Didn't have nearly enough material for the bias cut and used several tricks to get the pattern to fit on the stash fabric. Love it, wore it to work the day after I finished it last week. 7/2/13 2:36 PM
12 Simplicity:Amazing Fit Dress - Knits (Dresses) 3 1.000 3.000 June 3 - June 23. I made the dress with the C view sleeves for a little flutter, and the longer A skirt length. Used a very bright multi-colored jersey knit. Made some additions that used up every scrap of fabric for "camouflaging" some of my fit problems. 7/2/13 12:50 PM
  Total 23 12 23.375    
Note: if the Pattern Used is highlighted, clicking on it will display a list of reviews for that pattern. To write a review for a pattern please Click here

Back to Contest Report    Add more items    Discuss with others

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us