SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Detailed Contest Report

Progress Report for BMH
Contest: Fabric Stash - 2011     Managed By: Jacqui315
  Photo Pattern Used Points Items Made Yardage Used Description Last Updated
1 New Look:Misses skirt, jacket, blouse (Coordinates) 2 1.000 2.000 I made the skirt from a length of crinkled rayon that I bought in the 1980s. 2/26/11 0:11 AM
2 Vogue Patterns:Easy Options Misses Dress (Dresses) 3 1.000 3.000 I managed to make View D with 3/4 sleeves from a 3-yard length of fabric. This view calls for 3 1/8 yards. I played with the layout, but Vogue's layouts tend to be close, so I ended up skimping on the bottom of the skirt pieces, and then making a false hem using double-fold bias quit binding. I explain that in my review. It wasn't my fastest project in the contest, but I'm happy to have another 3 yards out of the stash, and I expect to get lots of wear out of this dress. 2/12/11 8:36 PM
3 Vogue Patterns:Misses robes, shower wrap (Easy to Sew) 4 2.000 3.625 A while back I bought the pattern, with enough 45" fabric (so I thought) to make the short robe, head wrap and slippers. When I got it out last week, I remembered that I never made it because the pattern called for 60" fabric. I had to fiddle the layout, and managed to make the short robe and head wrap. I made the collar and ties (couldn't find the frog fastener that I bought way back when) out of leftover pink and white gingham from the nightgown I made for the fabric stash contest.

This is a wonderfully easy pattern to work with, and went together in no time at all. I think this is my favorite garment of the ones I've made for the contest, and I expect to wear it a lot.
1/30/11 9:20 PM
4 Simplicity:Pullover dress, shirt jacket (Easy to Sew) 1 1.000 1.750 I got this 2-yard length of 60" lightweight wool from one of my mom's neighbors, shortly before my mom was diagnosed with a brain tumor last March. There was too much for a simple skirt, but not enough, according to the pattern envelope, for this TNT jumper pattern.

The length is required for both the front and back to be cut on a fold. However, I had enough width to cut the front on the fold and cut the back in two pieces, adding a seam allowance at the center back. I also saved fabric by finishing the neck and armholes with single-fold bias tape instead of self facings.

This will be a great little wear-to-work dress.
1/17/11 7:17 PM
5 Simplicity:Misses pants, nightgown, top (Sleepwear) 3 1.000 2.500 I inherited this piece of cotton flannel from my grandmother's stash when she passed away in 1990. At one time I was going to make a nightgown for my mother, but there wasn't enough fabric to make the pattern she wanted. I found the fabric again when I was gearing up for this contest and found a pajama pant that worked out perfectly. Sadly, I don't have fabric for the top in my stash, so that will be a project for another time. 1/16/11 4:55 PM
6 Simplicity:Nightgown (Sleepwear) 4 1.000 3.875 I used lengths of cotton that I purchased over a year ago to make some accessories for my bedroom. I realized that I wasn't going to get to that anytime soon, so I used three coordinating fabrics to make the nightgown, one for the body, one for the yoke and one for the ruffle. My husband thinks it's kind of April Cornell. I'm happy to put the fabric to good use. 1/14/11 9:27 PM
7 McCall's:Misses and Women's Dress (Dresses) 3 1.000 3.000 I bought the fabric a couple of years ago from a store that was going out of business. I also had the black crepe facing fabric in my stash. 1/9/11 11:38 PM
8 Simplicity:Aprons (Other) 1 1.000 1.750 I bought this pattern and fabric almost two years ago, to make for my niece when she got engaged. She got married last October. She's very "girly" so I chose to make an apron with lace trim in her favorite colors, red and black.

The garment went together quickly and easily with a minimum of fussiness. I worked on it when I got home from work, and finished it in two evenings.
1/5/11 8:24 PM
  Total 21 9 21.5    
Note: if the Pattern Used is highlighted, clicking on it will display a list of reviews for that pattern. To write a review for a pattern please Click here

Back to Contest Report    Add more items    Discuss with others

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.