SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Detailed Contest Report

Progress Report for Maggiedoll
Contest: Fabric Stash - 2011     Managed By: Jacqui315
  Photo Pattern Used Points Items Made Yardage Used Description Last Updated
1 Jalie:Choice of T-shirts (Tops) 1 1.000 1.500 Another Jalie 2005, in a blue rib knit.. also from a $1.95/yard fabric.com sale.. 2/28/11 11:36 PM
2 No Pattern Used:Silver Taffeta Pillowcases (Home Dec) 5 6.000 4.500 Six more couch pillowcases, two in gold satin, two in red taffeta, and two in white-and-black boucle 2/28/11 10:49 PM
3 Jalie:Choice of T-shirts (Tops) 1 1.000 1.500 Jalie 2005 in a green knit from a Joann half-off red-tag sale. (I didn't update the gallery picture, because I didn't want to take down the one in the luscious wool.. there's a link to the pic of the new one in my review.) 2/28/11 7:42 PM
4 No Pattern Used:Silver Taffeta Pillowcases (Home Dec) 2 2.000 1.500 Two pillowcases made of a silvery synthetic taffeta.. another fabric I bought back before I knew better! 2/28/11 5:05 PM
5 No Pattern Used:Petticoat (Lingerie) 5 1.000 6.000 I used the same basic idea as I used before to make the petticoat skirts, but made more of an actual petticoat, with layered white broadcloth and tulle. 2/28/11 4:12 PM
6 No Pattern Used:30-Minute Jacket (Outerwear) 2 1.000 2.500 A quick reversable jacket made with some of that double-sided wind-block fleece that was in the $1.95 section on fabric.com last year. 2/28/11 12:10 PM
7 No Pattern Used:Window Valence (Home Dec) 3 2.000 3.000 Valences to use up the other three yards of the infuriating-to-work-with polyester "sari brocade." 2/28/11 11:15 AM
8 No Pattern Used:Petticoat Skirt (Skirts) 5 2.000 4.750 A tiered petticoat-skirt, which used up the rest of my frustrating crinkle rayon. What a relief!
I did a second version with three yards of a polyester "sari brocade" from a Joann red-tag sale last year. The sari brocade was a nightmare to work with too!
2/27/11 8:47 PM
9 No Pattern Used:Assorted Couch Pillowcases (Home Dec) 4 4.000 3.500 Some more assorted couch pillowcases, for variety. I made two of the red ones after Kris suggested that it would be cool if we had red to go with the green for Christmas. Then I made another one each out of the orange and purple panne velvets. The red ones used a yard each, since it was a narrower fabric. The panne velvet ones were 3/4ths of a yard each. I'm getting better at sudden pillowcases! 2/27/11 2:47 PM
10 Simplicity:Misses' costume (Sleepwear) 8 2.000 8.500 I first made an off-white version of the Simplicity 2777 Arkivestry costume/nightgown that I first made last summer. I'd gotten the same fabric in light blue and light purple, so I decided to make both for the contest. The blue one used 4.5 yards, but I only had a 4 yards of the purple, so I narrowed the sleeves so I didn't have to use the full width of the fabric for each. 2/27/11 12:49 PM
11 Self Drafted Pattern:Reusable Grocery Bags (Other) 15 10.000 15.000 I've made 10 reusable grocery bags. And I've even gotten compliments at the grocery store! Each bag uses 1.5 yards, three-quarters of a yard for each the outside and the lining. Almost all of the construction was done with a 5-thread safety stitch. It's a great use of cheap fabrics I got early on that I don't actually want to wear. My mother mentioned that she'd like some, so I even have an excuse to make a few more! It's a great use of that rubbery "techno taffeta" too. 2/26/11 3:46 PM
12 No Pattern Used:Couch Pillowcases (Home Dec) 4 4.000 3.500 Couch pillowcases, using up the rest my dark green panne velvet. And they match the sheer curtains! 2/25/11 6:05 PM
13 Butterick:4571 (Costumes) 5 1.000 7.000 A floor length fantasy-style costume dress, made from panne velvet. 2/25/11 1:02 PM
14 Simplicity:3568 (Tops) 2 1.000 2.000 A knit tunic top made with a cotton jersey. My spreadsheet doesn't say when I got it, so it must have been before I started the spreadsheet. Probably early January of last year. I plan to wear it with the McCall's leggings. 2/24/11 12:25 PM
15 No Pattern Used:Sheer Kitchen Curtains (Home Dec) 5 1.000 5.000 Curtains for the window above the sink, made with two layers of a sheer polyester chiffon from a Joann half-off red-tag sale last year. The length of the curtains was 45", so including the top ruffle and pocket, I ended up using 5 yards plus a few inches. Tied back with ribbon and some of those hard-to-identify clip thingies from a FabricMart mystery box. 2/23/11 3:32 PM
16 Simplicity:Bathrobe (Loungewear) 2 1.000 2.250 I used this pajama pattern as a guide to make a bathrobe, since it was the most applicable pattern I had available. I got the high-performance moisture-wicking micro-terry last year with the intent of making a bathrobe, but kept putting it off. It's reversible, mostly just because I wasn't sure which side was the moisture-wicking side! 2/22/11 1:59 PM
17 Simplicity:Pants views D, E, F (Pants) 2 1.000 2.000 A pair of casual pants made from a really, really annoying crinkled rayon that just didn't want to cooperate. They should be good for gardening, though. 2/20/11 9:45 PM
18 McCall's:Misses'/Miss Petite Pants and (Pants) 3 2.000 2.750 Leggings made with a high-performance knits from fabric.com's $1.95/yard section last year, in the hopes that if I have some clothes that are easier to move in, I'll start stretching again; learning to make jeans I like has destroyed my flexibility! Jeans do photograph far better than these do, though; I've given up on getting any remotely decent looking pictures of the leggings actually on me! (One pair in purple and another in "wisteria") 2/20/11 4:59 PM
19 Butterick:Misses Medieval Dress and Belt (Costumes) 5 1.000 7.500 I used the body of Butterick 4827, the trumpet sleeves from McCall's 4491, and the (very altered) upper sleeves from 4571. The main dress is a dark green shantung I got on sale last may, and a silver-grey satin for the lining of the trumpet sleeves. 2/20/11 11:23 AM
20 No Pattern Used:Couch Slipcover (Home Dec) 5 1.000 5.000 Finally, I've finished my couch slipcover! I think in total I used 9 or 10 yards, between the sateen outside and the muslin on the inner parts that aren't generally visible. (not counting the pillow covers, which I made awhile ago since they were less daunting.) My mom gave me this fabric last year; she'd gotten it from a going-out-of-business fabric store about fifteen years ago, but she doesn't sew very much. She got a huge kick out of my using it, I guess she'd expected it to sit in her closet forever. 2/8/11 1:59 PM
21 Laughing Moon Mercantile:Silverado (Lingerie) 2 1.000 2.000 I'd been messing with this pattern for awhile, but only recently finished altering the pattern and made a version I can consider "worthy" of a busk. ..And all four layers (dupioni, muslin, canvas, and lining) are from my stash! 2/1/11 4:54 PM
22 Jalie:Choice of T-shirts (Tops) 4 3.000 4.500 I've made 3 of these Jalie long-sleeved tees from thermal prints I got last year at a Joann half-off red-tag sale. They're a bit childish, I suppose.. but fun! 1/26/11 6:13 PM
23 McCall's:APRON (Accessories) 2 1.000 2.250 An apron out of a weird jacquard-type fabric I got from a fabric.com sale last March for $.98/yard and green poly "silk essence" from a Joann red-tag sale sometime last winter. 1/17/11 4:49 PM
24 No Pattern Used:Sweatshirt from RTW Tee (Outerwear) 2 1.000 2.000 Zip-up hoodie in grey and pink sweatshirt fleece. 1/8/11 6:23 PM
  Total 94 51 100    
Note: if the Pattern Used is highlighted, clicking on it will display a list of reviews for that pattern. To write a review for a pattern please Click here

Back to Contest Report    Add more items    Discuss with others

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.