SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Detailed Contest Report

Progress Report for Janie Viers
Contest: 2012 Fabric Stash Contest     Managed By: Aroura
  Photo Pattern Used Points Items Made Yardage Used Description Last Updated
1 Kwik Sew:Robe (Baby clothes) 1 2.000 5.000 Two lined polartec robes size smaller than a one and a size two. Girl size 2 lavendar microfleece and lined in curly polartec 200. Great grand son in minky and lined in minky and I will never sew it again because I almost drowned in bits of feather threads! 1/24/12 7:09 PM
2 Simplicity:star bunting (Baby clothes) 1 9.000 6.000 3 Red blankets bound with blue, three red buntings with blue zippers explosed and three red berets for moms. Charity sewing. 1/24/12 9:56 AM
3 Simplicity:star bunting (Baby clothes) 1 4.000 4.000 More of the buntings. I made 2 buntings with matching blankets bound in leftover other color fleece and adult beret to match. It may not be as cold here in Ohio as it is in Afghanistan, but a baby needs to be warm, too! Sent via DH to maternity clinic who wants as many as I can make until it's too warm to blanket baby. 1/24/12 9:51 AM
4 Green Pepper:fleece socks (Accessories) 1 97.000 25.000 I finally used the black fleece I bought in 2001- polartec doesn't go out of style, so I felt ok buying so much. However. I. Am. Sick. of. Socks. I have totally gone nuts. Layout the fabric, trace dozens of the top, trace dozens of the back and then trace 10 to 20 bottom pieces of each of 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14 men sizes. Set up the machine, prewinding 10 to 20 bobbins of the appropriate color - black. Put zig foot on, zig zag the heel and foot of all of one size. Put straight stitch foot on because my machine seems to feed fleece better with it. stitch the 1//4 inch seam by the zig zag. top stitch the heel seam up with straight foot. put tops ontho all. sew around endge and turn right side out. Put in the color of thread in the top that goes with size (red=14 men), hem with fake flat stitch, with color top thread in the interior. Break needle. Put in new needle, change back to zig zag foot and stitch. repeat about one million times. break one needle every size because I forget to change foot.

I had originally thought I was done when the last group was completed. BUT I was told by the person I am sending to that they were so warm that the group all wore them in their boots the next day when they went on patrol. How can I not send more?
1/24/12 9:47 AM
5 Simplicity:star bunting (Baby clothes) 1 8.000 6.000 I made some more of the star buntings with matching blankets to gift to the pregnancy care center. My DH dropped the last batch off with the words, my wife still has alot of fleece to use, and the lady at the desk said, "good, we need all these that we can get." 1/18/12 9:41 AM
6 Green Pepper:balaclava and neck warmer (Accessories) 1 4.000 1.000 I used odd shaped scraps of various colors to create a neck up to go with the hats, they are basically a loose turtleneck without the body. 1/13/12 2:45 PM
7 Green Pepper:Beret, Mt. and scrap caps (Accessories) 1 4.000 1.000 I made 4 berets out of a lovely peice of turquose that matched the four buntings in that color. They become almost second nature to complete quickly when you have done as many as I have. 1/13/12 2:43 PM
8 Green Pepper:Polar cap (Accessories) 1 10.000 2.000 After I got done with the buntings and blankets I had pieces of fabric left and made hats to match the buntings with bits of the contrastt color fleece top stitched in funky patterns. 1/13/12 2:41 PM
9 Simplicity:star bunting (Baby clothes) 1 9.000 9.000 It is cold and snowy and I thought I would make up some polar fleece buntings to donate to the local pregnancy clinic which is always in need. I found that if I have 23 inches of fleece, I can squeeze out a bunting. What's left of the fabric piece I make a scarf or hat for mom or a blanket. 9 star buntings done January 2nd in the evening- 4 to midnight!: 2 blankets, a scarf and two hats (I was a sewing fool) 1/3/12 7:28 PM
10 Green Pepper:fleece socks (Accessories) 1 19.000 5.000 I made olive green polar fleece socks for DGD's fiance in Afghanistan. He requested some of the socks I had sent in navy be made in green so that he could wear during the day. I had bought an entire roll of polartec 12 years ago and thought it would last forever, but 19 pair of socks into the project (begun Jan 1 finished Jan 2) I ran out! 1/3/12 7:24 PM
  Total 10 166 64    
Note: if the Pattern Used is highlighted, clicking on it will display a list of reviews for that pattern. To write a review for a pattern please Click here

Back to Contest Report    Add more items    Discuss with others

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.