SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Notion Reviews > Sewing Room Furniture > Ikea Linnmon/Alex sewing table

Viewed 1182 times
Reviewed by: LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnRowe starstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
notions reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/4/14 11:59 AM
Last Updated: 3/4/14 12:02 PM
Rating : starstarstar
Approx. Price : $183
Bought from: Brick & Mortar Store
Photo: photo
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Category:Sewing Room Furniture [ Reviews]
What is this notion used for?
This set-up is FABULOUS!!! I needed table surface for my sewing machines, since I've moved and now have a real live sewing room...which means I'm no longer sewing in the kitchen using the countertops and flat-top stove surfaces to sew on.

Did you get your money's worth after the purchase?

These tables are worth 10x the amount! Seriously! I went with the biggest set; 6.5 foot long tabletop, with 2 Alex cabinets, each with 5 drawers that hold more stuff than I ever would have guessed.

I purchased 2 sets and placed them back to back;
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-3Ou5xK0uUXg/UvftiLr8HoI/AAAAAAAAJXw/40wf-PSzg08/s912/photo%2520%252810%2529.JPG

OMG these tables are STURDY! With the longer set, there is a metal leg in the center for extra support, and the max load is rated at 110 pounds. There is absolutely no vibration with sewing, embroidery or serging even at top speeds.

The drawers have stops in them, so you can't accidentally pull a drawer entirely out, dumping things everywhere (hate when that happens; doesn't happen anymore, yay!)

And the drawers...they are bottomless pits! I still am shocked at how much these suckers hold. When I first got my sewing room set up, I panicked, thinking I had somehow lost half my sewing supplies in the move. But nope, everything's there in the drawers. And I still have 4 that are empty!

The backs are all finished, so the table can be set up anywhere in a room. VERY nicely finished, easy to clean surface...I am extremely pleased!


Is this notion easily available?

If you have an Ikea, these are very readily available. I had mine delivered next day, as both the boxes of cabinets and the table tops are very heavy. Like REALLY heavy.

The table top comes in white or black/brown. I went with the white, and it really gives the sewing room a clean fresh crisp look.

A smaller 59" table is also available if you don't have room for the biggie.

Would you recommend it to others?

HIGHLY recommend! In fact, I hope nobody's reading this part of the review, as you're all rushing out to your local Ikea for your own sewing tables. ;)

LOVE LOVE LOVE these tables! So sturdy, so pretty, so much useful storage, and sooooo much surface to sew and cut and work on. One of my best sewing room purchases ever. :)

9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Artsewer said...
Lynn, nice review. Could you clarify a few things was one set of tables only $183 Meaning two Alex side and the heavy duty top? Can you put that heavy duty top on the squatter wider Alex also? Thanks
3/4/14 9:54 PM
LynnRowe said...
Thanks! Yes, 2 Alex cabinets (total of 10 drawers) and on 6.5' table top is $183. I'm not sure which Alex cabinets you're referring to; do you mean the one on casters? It would be fine, I think, except for the casters, as the table top is not secured permanently to the cabinets. However, you could easily do so with L-brackets. If the casters are not locking type, I would change them out so the table doesn't move around all over the place when you don't want it to!
3/4/14 11:41 PM
SandiMacD said...
I have been looking at various Ikea combos but can only find the table top dimensions. What is the height? I am looking for cutting height, not a standard desk height.
3/5/14 6:49 AM
LynnRowe said...
This combo is 29 1/8" high. You could go with a couple Ikea kitchen cabinets and a Linnmon table top.
3/5/14 9:13 AM
Melinda In Tulsa said...
Great review. Wish I had an Ikea near me.
3/5/14 9:39 AM
swilliams said...
hooray for sewing shopping! I will look at the Ikea site but how much did you pay for shipping and how far was it? I am 200 miles from Ikea...
3/13/14 11:26 PM
LynnRowe said...
The shipping was same-day for $59 (although I asked for following day service), and the store is apx 15 miles away.
3/14/14 4:24 AM
LynnRowe said...
Duplicate!
3/14/14 4:25 AM
erinsluck said...
Wow. My husband looking for a fly tying set up. I think this might work. We shAre a room.
3/18/14 5:27 PM

Add a Notion Review    Read All Notion Reviews

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.