SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Notion Reviews > Irons / Steamers > Rowenta Rowenta DG5030 Pro Iron Steam Station with Stainless Steel Soleplate 1750 Watt

Viewed 720 times
Reviewed by: talkeetnagirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About talkeetnagirl
AK USA
Member since: 3/28/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
notions reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/23/14 8:24 PM
Last Updated: 3/23/14 8:28 PM
Rating : thumbsdown
Approx. Price : $250
Bought from: Brick & Mortar Store
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Category:Irons / Steamers [ Reviews]
I purchased this from my local quilt store, which I love. I wanted to buy local and actually paid a lot more than had I ordered online.

this worked great at first; got hot and lots of steam. I had it barely a year, and it began leaking, make that dumping the water out the tank. I checked with my local sewing machine shop and they said it has to go to the manufacturer. Unfortunately, the warranty is expired. It lasted slightly longer than the warranty. While I was checking on this at my local store, another woman said she had three of them that leaked and she returned them. Another woman said hers leaked too. With I had known that; I never would have bought this expensive piece of junk. You've been warned. Mine was not an isolated problem.

6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Warbler said...
I know folk love their Rowenta Irons but I have heard of this problem and you are not alone. I will not venture down that path. I've had good success with Reliable V100 but I also have a cheap B&D D2030 Dgital Advantage and it has been tried and true! Tell your LQS about them and maybe they will look into them. Go to amazon to read the reviews.
3/23/14 9:53 PM
talkeetnagirl said...
Thanks Warbler. I am so bummed about this Rowenta. A very expensive lesson. I still have a couple regular steam irons that work fine, they just don't produce enough steam. My LQS did sell Reliables; they said there was an issue and I don't remember what it was.
3/23/14 10:12 PM
SewNSewGrandma said...
I had this problem with a Rowenta. Turns out my hard water caused it. I then bought another and used bottled water and haven't had a problem since. Also, if you press the steam button while the iron is off, it will cause a problem too. I now love my Rowenta and have two (one is a steam station). With those two considerations, I've never had a problem. Sometimes the only problem is: tons of steam! I love these irons.
3/23/14 10:29 PM
NVK said...
I had a Rowenta iron for a year before it started to leak, very similar to your experience. I now own a Reliable iron and love it.
3/24/14 6:35 AM
ASiverson said...
I have had two Rowenta irons now and love both of them! I am so sorry you had a bad experience with them. Have you tried Euro-Star or LauraStar? They are both expensive, but good irons.
3/24/14 10:05 AM
1stitchinfool said...
Thank you for this information. I am in the market for a new iron and was thinking of a Rowenta or Oliso...
4/19/14 1:37 PM

Add a Notion Review    Read All Notion Reviews

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.