SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Notion Reviews > Irons / Steamers > Rowenta Rowenta DG5030 Pro Iron Steam Station with Stainless Steel Soleplate 1750 Watt

Viewed 749 times
Reviewed by: talkeetnagirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About talkeetnagirl
AK USA
Member since: 3/28/09
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced
notions reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/23/14 8:24 PM
Last Updated: 3/23/14 8:28 PM
Rating : thumbsdown
Approx. Price : $250
Bought from: Brick & Mortar Store
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
Category:Irons / Steamers [ Reviews]
I purchased this from my local quilt store, which I love. I wanted to buy local and actually paid a lot more than had I ordered online.

this worked great at first; got hot and lots of steam. I had it barely a year, and it began leaking, make that dumping the water out the tank. I checked with my local sewing machine shop and they said it has to go to the manufacturer. Unfortunately, the warranty is expired. It lasted slightly longer than the warranty. While I was checking on this at my local store, another woman said she had three of them that leaked and she returned them. Another woman said hers leaked too. With I had known that; I never would have bought this expensive piece of junk. You've been warned. Mine was not an isolated problem.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Warbler said...
I know folk love their Rowenta Irons but I have heard of this problem and you are not alone. I will not venture down that path. I've had good success with Reliable V100 but I also have a cheap B&D D2030 Dgital Advantage and it has been tried and true! Tell your LQS about them and maybe they will look into them. Go to amazon to read the reviews.
3/23/14 9:53 PM
talkeetnagirl said...
Thanks Warbler. I am so bummed about this Rowenta. A very expensive lesson. I still have a couple regular steam irons that work fine, they just don't produce enough steam. My LQS did sell Reliables; they said there was an issue and I don't remember what it was.
3/23/14 10:12 PM
SewNSewGrandma said...
I had this problem with a Rowenta. Turns out my hard water caused it. I then bought another and used bottled water and haven't had a problem since. Also, if you press the steam button while the iron is off, it will cause a problem too. I now love my Rowenta and have two (one is a steam station). With those two considerations, I've never had a problem. Sometimes the only problem is: tons of steam! I love these irons.
3/23/14 10:29 PM
NVK said...
I had a Rowenta iron for a year before it started to leak, very similar to your experience. I now own a Reliable iron and love it.
3/24/14 6:35 AM
ASiverson said...
I have had two Rowenta irons now and love both of them! I am so sorry you had a bad experience with them. Have you tried Euro-Star or LauraStar? They are both expensive, but good irons.
3/24/14 10:05 AM
1stitchinfool said...
Thank you for this information. I am in the market for a new iron and was thinking of a Rowenta or Oliso...
4/19/14 1:37 PM

Add a Notion Review    Read All Notion Reviews

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Pattern (JC312MM)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.