SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Notion Reviews > Tools > Dritz Bamboo Stiletto

Viewed 428 times
Reviewed by: lgrande
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lgrande star
United States
Member since: 1/18/12
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
notions reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/4/14 11:02 AM
Last Updated: 7/23/14 5:59 PM
Rating : starstarstar
Approx. Price : $6.99
Bought from: Online Store
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
Category:Tools [ Reviews]
What is this notion used for? For help in guiding tricky fabrics thru the needle.
I really like it for sewing with knits and knits that curl.
Did you get your money's worth after the purchase? Oh, yes! I have a couple a metal stilettos and I don't like using them around my machine because I'm always afraid they'll damage my much-loved machines.

Is this notion easily available? I bought mine from JoAnn's online but it's also available from ebay. It can also be found at Amazon.
Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely. It's amazing how something so very simple can add so much to the sewing experience. It is just the right length and thickness to work well and feel good in the hand.


5 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Would it be possible to post a photo of this tool? thanks Nancy
7/6/14 3:08 PM
frame said...
Nancy, if you just google it you can find some images. This sounds silly, but I had a package of bamboo skewers for bbq-ing. I cut one in half and wrapped the cut edge in case of splintering. It's probably not as substantial as this stiletto, but it has worked well for me. Just another option. Thanks for this review. I didn't even know they sold such a thing, thus my bamboo skewer idea. :)
7/11/14 4:25 PM
lgrande said...
I tried the bbq skewers as well while I was waiting for my order to arrive; and while they work well enough, the stiletto is about 2 to 3 times thicker which makes it just right to hold onto, it's quite comfortable to hold.
7/12/14 9:15 AM
lgrande said...
oops. double post.
7/12/14 9:16 AM
blythebyname said...
I just got one of these myself! I found it in the quilting notions section of my local Joann's. I'm taking a beginning quilting class soon and am looking forward to trying it out (a stiletto was in the list of class supplies).
7/22/14 0:31 AM

Add a Notion Review    Read All Notion Reviews

 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.