SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6179 (Peasant top)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1691 times 
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
Friend of PR

About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews: 132 (patterns: 54)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/03 2:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Rhonda Noah said... (3/3/03 11:42 AM) Reply
Kim, do you normally take a size 6 in New Look patterns? That would be for about a 29" bust.... I'm normally a 6 in RTW, but my next top from this pattern will be a size 12. Even if a 10 (32 1/2 bust) is slightly large for you, this top is not as boxy/baggy in the cut as most peasant tops and will most likely fit you just fine. HTH
alex said... (3/3/03 11:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review, Rhonda. I'm looking forward to seeing your creations once the digital camera is sorted out!.
AnneM said... (3/3/03 11:36 AM) Reply
Kim - head over to the new pattern drafting section on the message board. I am certain that they can give you some guidance.
Kim Winson said... (3/3/03 10:37 AM) Reply
Thank you, Rhonda! I've been eyeing this pattern for some eyelet that I bought. I do need some help from everyone though: it doesn't come in my size! I need it in a size 6--where to go for how-to?
Rhonda Noah said... (3/3/03 5:38 AM) Reply
Mary T, this top will fit the bill for your daughter, I'm sure! Deepika, I was so busy fussing and fuming with the bust that I didn't really notice the length! It did fit my 38" hips over my jeans, although it says it's a 34" hip. (It would have fit my niece fine in the hips.) I also cut off about an inch of the length to even it up as my rayon had shifted during cutting. I do think the gentle curve of the sides gave it a nicer look; not so baggy as some styles I've seen.
Deepika said... (3/2/03 8:51 PM) Reply
Wow Rhonda, very helpful review. I must take out this pattern to try the longer sleeve version for this summer. Also did you feel the length of the top was too long?
AnneM said... (3/2/03 7:45 PM) Reply
Maybe that is why the model is leaning forward in the pattern picture - to give more bust room. Good luck with the camera.
SouthernStitch said... (3/2/03 7:22 PM) Reply
Rhonda, thanks for this review. My dd wants a peasant top, and I want just a plain, peasant top pattern, no frills. This is now on my wish list - thanks for all the details and suggestions!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Pattern Details