Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6179 (Peasant top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1690 times 25 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/03 2:23 PM
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
Rhonda, thanks for this review. My dd wants a peasant top, and I want just a plain, peasant top pattern, no frills. This is now on my wish list - thanks for all the details and suggestions!
3/2/03 7:22 PM
AnneM said...
Maybe that is why the model is leaning forward in the pattern picture - to give more bust room. Good luck with the camera.
3/2/03 7:45 PM
Deepika said...
Wow Rhonda, very helpful review. I must take out this pattern to try the longer sleeve version for this summer. Also did you feel the length of the top was too long?
3/2/03 8:51 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Mary T, this top will fit the bill for your daughter, I'm sure! Deepika, I was so busy fussing and fuming with the bust that I didn't really notice the length! It did fit my 38" hips over my jeans, although it says it's a 34" hip. (It would have fit my niece fine in the hips.) I also cut off about an inch of the length to even it up as my rayon had shifted during cutting. I do think the gentle curve of the sides gave it a nicer look; not so baggy as some styles I've seen.
3/3/03 5:38 AM
Kim Winson said...
Thank you, Rhonda! I've been eyeing this pattern for some eyelet that I bought. I do need some help from everyone though: it doesn't come in my size! I need it in a size 6--where to go for how-to?
3/3/03 10:37 AM
AnneM said...
Kim - head over to the new pattern drafting section on the message board. I am certain that they can give you some guidance.
3/3/03 11:36 AM
alex said...
Thanks for the helpful review, Rhonda. I'm looking forward to seeing your creations once the digital camera is sorted out!.
3/3/03 11:40 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Kim, do you normally take a size 6 in New Look patterns? That would be for about a 29" bust.... I'm normally a 6 in RTW, but my next top from this pattern will be a size 12. Even if a 10 (32 1/2 bust) is slightly large for you, this top is not as boxy/baggy in the cut as most peasant tops and will most likely fit you just fine. HTH
3/3/03 11:42 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by suliabryon on 7/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8209
photo
Review by Annette1 on 3/22/08
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us