SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6179 (Peasant top)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1691 times 
Reviewed by:Rhonda Noah
photo

 
 
About Rhonda Noahstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/03 2:23 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhonda Noah said... (3/3/03 11:42 AM) Reply
Kim, do you normally take a size 6 in New Look patterns? That would be for about a 29" bust.... I'm normally a 6 in RTW, but my next top from this pattern will be a size 12. Even if a 10 (32 1/2 bust) is slightly large for you, this top is not as boxy/baggy in the cut as most peasant tops and will most likely fit you just fine. HTH
alex said... (3/3/03 11:40 AM) Reply
Thanks for the helpful review, Rhonda. I'm looking forward to seeing your creations once the digital camera is sorted out!.
AnneM said... (3/3/03 11:36 AM) Reply
Kim - head over to the new pattern drafting section on the message board. I am certain that they can give you some guidance.
Kim Winson said... (3/3/03 10:37 AM) Reply
Thank you, Rhonda! I've been eyeing this pattern for some eyelet that I bought. I do need some help from everyone though: it doesn't come in my size! I need it in a size 6--where to go for how-to?
Rhonda Noah said... (3/3/03 5:38 AM) Reply
Mary T, this top will fit the bill for your daughter, I'm sure! Deepika, I was so busy fussing and fuming with the bust that I didn't really notice the length! It did fit my 38" hips over my jeans, although it says it's a 34" hip. (It would have fit my niece fine in the hips.) I also cut off about an inch of the length to even it up as my rayon had shifted during cutting. I do think the gentle curve of the sides gave it a nicer look; not so baggy as some styles I've seen.
Deepika said... (3/2/03 8:51 PM) Reply
Wow Rhonda, very helpful review. I must take out this pattern to try the longer sleeve version for this summer. Also did you feel the length of the top was too long?
AnneM said... (3/2/03 7:45 PM) Reply
Maybe that is why the model is leaning forward in the pattern picture - to give more bust room. Good luck with the camera.
SouthernStitch said... (3/2/03 7:22 PM) Reply
Rhonda, thanks for this review. My dd wants a peasant top, and I want just a plain, peasant top pattern, no frills. This is now on my wish list - thanks for all the details and suggestions!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8532

photo
by: Lorenna

Review
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1292

photo
by: Steph huck

Review