Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
comment posted
Vintage Fashion Library: VFL139 (Spadea 1149 by Ceil Chapman) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 820 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:lauramae
photo
About lauramaestar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/09
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/11 6:17 PM
Last Updated:11/15/11 3:20 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Wow!! That would have taken me weeks (if ever) to complete. You make the most amazing things, and in such good time!!! Absolutely, amazingly, completely beautiful.
10/4/11 6:20 PM
margk said...
You look divine! Wow, what a dress!
10/4/11 6:29 PM
Raye Ann said...
LauraMae, this is so beautiful! Congratulations on such a gorgeous creation.
10/4/11 7:00 PM
marec said...
Wow!! I am always interested in your projects and wonder "Where does she go to wear such gorgeous clothes?" My lifestyle is a bit ...rural... :-) Fantastic dress!
10/4/11 7:34 PM
poppykettle said...
The sleeves and neckline on this dress are just so gorgeous - the fabric colour really suits you too. Do you happen to use horsehair braid at all in your skirt hem?
10/4/11 9:52 PM
poppykettle said...
(Do = Did!) I see from your blog that you did - can I ask what width? I'm planning to use it in a skirt similar to yours and the moment and am flummoxed over which width to choose!
10/4/11 9:56 PM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous! The fabrics you used for this dress are amazing.
10/4/11 11:23 PM
tsedai said...
Wow. That is an AMAZING dress. Just lovely.
10/5/11 1:11 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Wow, wow, wow. That says it all really.
10/5/11 1:52 AM
lauramae said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! Poppykettle: I used 6" horsehair braid purchased from Vogue Fabrics. I have used 1/2" and 1" previously, and the 6" really made all the difference for me (although, I suppose, it would depend on the look you are going for). Also, I am wearing two fluffy petticoats as well to create the extreme silhouette.
10/5/11 2:59 AM
tess said...
Oh your dress is simply stunning and you look beautiful in it! Thank you for your detailed photos really helpful!
10/5/11 5:21 AM
Rlkataja said...
WOW!! Gorgeous!
10/5/11 6:18 AM
Judy Kski said...
All your efforts were well worth it. Your dress is just gorgeous!
10/5/11 6:38 AM
Norsecross said...
Heaps of drama in the gown!The neckline is pure glamor, which generally means hard to wear and needs all those specific undergarments! Wow, look at the effect when it all lines up!
10/5/11 10:50 AM
SewWil said...
Stunning!!! Love your fabric selection.
10/5/11 4:05 PM
Stephanie C. said...
That is a stunning dress!!! And you wear it well. Great job!
10/5/11 6:27 PM
calypso said...
You look like you stepped off the cover of a vintage Vogue magazine! Fabulous job. I hope you have an event to show this off - it's so gorgeous!
10/5/11 7:20 PM
Diane333 said...
You are amazing! How can you accomplish so much sewing...it seems that you feature major outfits that you've sewn every week.
10/5/11 8:23 PM
moushka said...
You look like a vintage Vogue cover come to life! The dress is a masterpiece. Please, tell us about the event to which you wore it. The colour is lovely on you. Did the pattern say what year the design is from? I'm guessing early 'fifties. The New Look shape was so feminine.
10/5/11 10:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
That is an amazing dress, and your color choice makes it absolutely perfect - flattering on you and yet perfectly true to the period. Beautiful work.
10/5/11 11:30 PM
manola6176 said...
Rarely have I seen such a gorgeous dress. It is divine ! Btw, where do you wear all your dresses ?
10/6/11 4:32 AM
manola6176 said...
Rarely have I seen such a gorgeous dress. It is divine ! Btw, where do you wear all your dresses ?
10/6/11 4:37 AM
squirrellypoo said...
WOW! That bodice!
10/6/11 6:13 AM
ClioBklyn said...
What a triumph! This dress is stunning - a real work of art. I can't imagine the hours that went into creating it. Brava!
10/6/11 3:47 PM
ghijsmom said...
This is the most stunning dress I've seen in your collection. Beautiful fabric. Beautiful work. You should be so proud of your accomplishment.
10/7/11 5:03 AM
ghijsmom said...
This is the most stunning dress I've seen in your collection. Beautiful fabric. Beautiful work. You should be so proud of your accomplishment.
10/7/11 5:04 AM
JTink said...
I can't even find the words to describe how lovely this is. You did a beautiful job and look stunning.
10/7/11 9:15 AM
Marge99 said...
Well done, that is an impressive frock!
10/7/11 1:02 PM
MichelleE said...
What a gorgeous masterpiece!!! Bravo!
10/7/11 6:05 PM
ReginaLit said...
Your work is fabulous, OUTSTANDING!!!
10/10/11 7:08 AM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous! A very impressive effort. I love the colour.
10/13/11 4:15 AM
nancy2001 said...
Lovely vintage dress, beautifully designed and crafted! I'm sure Ceil Chapman would be proud (my uncle was her head cutter and brother-in-law). By the way, I am also one of the finalists in the Threads Contest (Italian Chic by nancynancy). It would be wonderful if the winner came from the Pattern Review community.
11/15/11 4:21 PM
sewbehind said...
Stunning. You look beautiful in this. The colour and the style. I love how it looks from the back as well. Like Marec, I wonder where you wear these dresses? You would/will certainly make an entrance.
11/15/11 7:17 PM
Wino said...
Very impressive workmanship and just beautiful on you. Love the color and embellishment.
11/15/11 7:37 PM
JillyBe said...
This is the essence of vintage glamour!!! Love love love the photo shoot. What a beautiful creation :)
11/15/11 8:55 PM
lauramae said...
Nancy Congrats to you! And how fantastic to be so closely connected to Ceil Chapman do you have any original gowns or sketches? I love each and every Ceil Chapman design I have ever seen and cannot imagine being a part of creating them!
11/15/11 11:59 PM
nancy2001 said...
My uncle, was the brother of Samuel Chapman, Ceil Chapman's first husband, whom she divorced before I was born, so I unfortunately never got to meet Ceil at family functions. But my uncle continued to work for Ceil until she retired, and he regularly brought my grandmother remnants of the most beautiful fabrics. One of my favorite early childhood memories is of going through piles of the most extravagant laces and silks with my grandmother so that I could choose the perfect combination for my Barbie doll's "Ceil Chapman" wedding gown which Grandma made for me as a birthday present. But it was only when I began sewing a few years ago that I began to appreciate Ceil Chapman's role as a leading American fashion designer of the postwar period.
11/16/11 7:42 AM
nancy2001 said...
Congratulations, Laura Mae for winning the Threads contest!
12/6/11 1:27 PM
ChristineX said...
Fantastic!! <3
12/16/11 8:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6710
photo
Review by a.me.s on 2/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2006-113 Wrap Top
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 8/4/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us