SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1466 (Misses' & Plus Dress, Tunic or Top, Skirt & Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:NVK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About NVKstar
Member since: 2/12/09
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/14 12:10 PM
Last Updated:8/12/14 12:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1466 by NVK

Simplicity: 1466 by NVK  Simplicity: 1466 by NVK  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1466
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Top  dress  pants  skirt  tunic  
Fabric:Polyester Dupioni  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Womens dress, tunic or top, skirt and slim cropped pants

Pattern Sizing:

The pattern is multi-sized ranging from sizes 10 -18. There is also a multi-sized pattern ranging from 20W to 28W . I found that the finished garment measurement on the back of the envelope did not match what I measured on the pattern paper. For example, the back of the envelope gave the finished bust measurement (size 16) as 41.5 inches; I measured 40.5 inches. The waist measured 36 inches as opposed to the 36.5 listed on the envelope. The tunic/top narrows quickly after the apex of the bust, so if your under-bust and rib caged do not narrow, you may need to make an adjustment. Also the pattern tissue states the pattern has 6 inches of ease. The only place I saw this ease was at the hemline of the tunic. The pants have a very slim leg. Luckily, I checked the measurement and widened the leg by one size. If you make the pants out of a woven fabric, you need to check this measurement or you may not be able to bend your knees. The fabric section says that you can use a stretch woven or knit. I think they had the pants in mind for this type of fabric.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Yes, except for the design changes I made.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

This is a Threads Pattern Collection for Simplicity, so the instructions are detailed and easy-to-follow.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I like the clean lines of the princess-style top. I also like the circular yoke. I did make changes to the design to fit my personal preference. I did not like the discrepancy in measurements. Also, I feel both the tunic top and the skirt need a lining.

Fabric Used:

Fashion fabric
Silk-look polyester blend
Lining- hang-free lining or silk
Underlining- silk

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I added a waistband to the skirt and pants. I started to change the skirt pattern front from pleats to darts, when I realized I had a skirt pattern, so I used my old pattern for the skirt. The pants were widened and lengthened at the leg. I added a waistband to the pants. I underlined the orange pants, as it gave the fabric more body. The blue pants are not underlined. The pants and skirt have a lapped zipper. I changed this to an invisible zipper. I felt the tunic top needed a lining so I added a lining. I made the fishtail tunic top (blue floral print) and decided that I did not like the way the fishtail looked on me. I made two more tops with a straight (not fishtail) hemline. I had to narrow the waist and hips of the tunic after the FBA. I made the tabs for the waist, but did not like the way they looked on me, so I removed them.
Full Bust Adjustment
I needed to do a full-bust adjustment. I made my usual alteration on the side panel of the top. After this adjustment, the front piece was too small.

Muslin with side panel FBA

I needed to enlarge the front piece. This procedure needs to be done before altering the side panel. I followed the steps for adding width to the front and side panel in the book -Fit for Real People- by Pati Palmer and Marta Alto. This method changes the measurement of the side panel, so make sure you follow the sequence.

FBA on front and side panel

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I have enjoyed this pattern. I recommend it, but feel you need to look closely at the measurements of the pattern pieces before sewing. I think I have sewed enough versions of this pattern for a while.

Conclusion: Fun pattern that can be dressy or casual.

All outfits album


Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bakertoo said...
Beautiful, and great colors too. That is a wonderful fit you have done, and so flattering and stylish. Thanks for the review.
8/12/14 12:27 PM
canei said...
Very nice!
8/12/14 12:57 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Well you certainly owned this pattern! Lovely outfits!
8/12/14 1:40 PM
Mufffet said...
Those outfits are lovely! I am glad you told us of the pattern measurement inaccuracy! Helpful information. :) Lovely colors and fitting.
8/12/14 2:29 PM
marec said...
These are such gorgeous outfits. Thank you VERY much for the details regarding the flat pattern measurements. Did you let Simplicity know? :-)
8/12/14 7:49 PM
Barbara V said...
Lovely outfits...great colors, fit and style on you!
8/12/14 9:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job with this pattern.
8/13/14 5:29 AM
Arted said...
Thank you for the tips on the pattern. Great job on your outfits.
8/15/14 2:09 PM
sosat said...
You look smashing in both outfits! Really great colour choices.
8/26/14 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

brerrabbit.com 4800

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Kwik Sew 3807

photo
by: Amanda.Cla...

Review

Pattern

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now