SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5954 (Misses' Tunic)

22 more reviews
Viewed 438 times 
Reviewed by:mhoutz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About mhoutzstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/27/04
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/14 3:27 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Project Photo:Butterick: 5954 by mhoutz

Butterick: 5954 by mhoutz  Butterick: 5954 by mhoutz  
Pattern Photo:Butterick 5954
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Sweater Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: MISSES TUNIC: Close-fitting and flared, pullover tunic has front variations, shaped hemline and narrow hem. Wrong side shows on back hemline. C and D: collar.

Pattern Sizing: XS-XXL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? pretty much!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? This is my second tunic from this pattern. It has a lovely back sweep
and fits me perfectly!

Fabric Used: A beautiful sweater knit from Marcy Tilton

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made View C, lengthened the sleeves and added a contrast neck binding.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes...the back of this tunic sets it apart from many others.

Conclusion: A really lovely tunic that is quickly becoming a TNT for me. For more details, see my blog
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
shazam410 said...
Absolutely beautiful!! Looks fantastic on you and what a wonderful outfit it makes with your reversible raincoat. You must have turned some heads on your trip. Perfect fabric choice.... Fabulous job!!
10/17/14 7:13 PM
TJSEWS said...
This top is fantastic - love it!
8/26/14 1:21 PM
tlc246 said...
I might just have to grab this pattern. It looks splendid on you.
8/18/14 4:46 PM
JuliN said...
The back is the best part! I love this top. Thanks for sharing.
8/14/14 5:36 PM
mz.choize said...
Wow, great fit and looks soo comfy! Love it!
8/13/14 10:41 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Another beauty with wonderful fabric. A TNT for me, too, thanks to you :))
8/13/14 7:02 PM
kkkkaty said...
one of my favorite patterns. I love the swingy back, and have noted that some people sew this pattern and alter the back to take that out. Too bad. very cute on you, super flattering, nice fabric!
8/13/14 11:01 AM
redside said...
Always elegant in a funky way. I love your look!
8/13/14 10:10 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love this on you!!!
8/13/14 7:12 AM
Dilliander said...
Another lovely top and perfect for your vacation. Gorgeous Marcy fabric too :)
8/13/14 0:14 AM
Re Becca said...
LOVE it! that back is so chic. Love the pants too, great fit.
8/12/14 10:49 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful and stylish!
8/12/14 9:14 PM
marec said...
That is a great looking tunic, and the sweater knit is terrific.
8/12/14 7:51 PM
carolynw said...
Love this - makes me want to get to making it like right now! You look really nice in this.
8/12/14 4:30 PM
rivergum said...
That tunic looks fabulous! I really love the fabric, pity that you bought it years ago and it will no longer be available. Nice sweater knits like that are really hard to find. Luckily the pattern is still around. :-)
8/12/14 4:27 PM
Claverie said...
How cool! Needless to say... Great Fabric!
8/12/14 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
McCall's 6390

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

More Info