SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1435 (Child's Knit Dresses, Top and Capri Leggings)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in 2014 One Pattern, Many Looks Contest Contest
Viewed 359 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/14 4:05 PM
Last Updated:9/5/14 7:40 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1435 by Aroura

Simplicity: 1435 by Aroura  Simplicity: 1435 by Aroura  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1435
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Poly-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
This will be my entry into the 2014 One Pattern Many Looks Contest. This contest is great timing for new school clothing! My DD needed a few new dresses, so she picked a pattern, and we have worked together to design 2 versions. Please check out all the pics here!

Version 1: Black and red floral print with red trim.
Version 2: Blue and white "dragon wing" dress.

Pattern Description:
Child's Knit Dresses, Top and Capri Leggings. Two styles of skirt.
I made view E.

Pattern Sizing:
3 through 8. My daughter measures a 4 on their size chart, but after doing a paper fitting, I cut one size below their 3 (so it would be a 2), and it is still a little loose, which is fine for this style of dress. I cut a 6 in length.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
For the first version, yes. The dragon wing dress looks the same, but also very different.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the instructions are fine.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the idea of this pattern, but it has some technical difficulties. Perhaps it is partly due to my daughters super slim shape, but the dropped waist can look kind of baggy.

The handkerchief hem is cute, and I like the panels because it allows more opportunities for color blocking and other creative designs, but they don't hem it at all, just cover the hem up with trim, which they give sparse directions to applying around the corners. I had to look up tutorials on mitering trim. It looks pretty enough, I am just weirdly bothered by the hem. It is completely a mental thing, because it does look fine, even from the inside.

Fabric Used:
This first version is a polyester knit I got from my Aunt Barb.
I used a red trim with silver sparkles woven into it. It is NOT a knit trim as called for in the pattern, just a regular ribbon. I was worried it would make the hem stiff, but it seems to move and flow just fine.

The second version is white cotton jersey knit with color blocked pieces left over from her Elsa dress (early made Halloween costume). The trim is a mix of knit ruffle trim in the front, and ribbon on the rest. The wings are sheer sparkle knit, also left over from her Elsa Halloween costume.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
The only design change I made for version 1 is that I added a matching ribbon belt. I sewed the belt onto the front ,and left it loose in the back for tying to keep the waist stretch open.

For version 2 the main body of the dress is white, then I color blocked the front 2 skirt panels and a matching width piece of the bodice in light blue/bejeweled knit, and removed the collar. I lengthened the sleeves to full length, and then added a shoulder flounce out of the same fabric as the "belly".
I then added "wings", which are simple shapes (with rounded bottom corner) of sheer sparkly blue knit as a detachable decoration. If you look at the composite photo, you will see how the dress looks both with and without the wings, so this dress becomes a play dress, but also a dress she can wear for more formal occasions, like school photos.
There is a button at the sleeve hem, the armpit, the waist and the skirt hem, and each wing buttons on/off. The buttons are decorative; bow shaped buttons at the hems and diamond hearts at the waist.
I also added a strip of ribbon down the center back, and placed a row of decorative opal buttons that my daughter picked out (this is the dragon "spine").

(I almost think I went overboard on the embellishment for #2. Then I remembered this is for a 7 year old girl, and realized it was fine! lol)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Well, I've already made it twice, and if she ever needs another dress, I think this is a great pattern and may well make it again when she outgrows these.
I would recommend it, but make sure you do a fitting to get the size and waist length correct.

Conclusion:
An interesting pattern with lots of fun and creative options. Be aware the hem on view E is finished with trim, and that all the views tend to run about 2 sizes too large (I know because they all use the same bodice pieces).

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Thanks so much everyone! I really appreciate the nice comments. :) The winged dragon dress was a lot of work, but really worth it! I'm happy with the black and red one as well, it's great for a more classic dressed up look.
9/16/14 9:35 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Thanks for describing how you did the wings. This idea is going into the dragon file in my head! Oh yeah, I LOVE the shoes! This is also my favourite colour. ;-)
9/16/14 3:43 PM
arianamaniacs said...
Great dresses especially the dragon dress :-D
9/15/14 6:27 AM
supizoo said...
Wings! How fabulous!
9/6/14 3:52 AM
BlueSkysAhead said...
Just darling. The wings are very cool. You must be the cool mom. Way to go mom!
8/31/14 11:18 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love the "dragon wing" dress -- your DD looks so cute and happy with the outcome of your hard work. I'm sure it was a big hit at the party.
8/31/14 1:48 PM
julie w said...
both dresses are gorgeous, but the one with wings is just too cute!
8/30/14 7:16 PM
ISewedIt said...
adorable!
8/30/14 7:09 AM
Debbie Dabbles said...
I agree...lucky, lucky girl!
8/29/14 11:18 PM
sosat said...
wow, what a cute dress. lucky girl!
8/26/14 8:48 AM
Pj3g said...
She is so cute! Really cute dress too!
8/21/14 2:07 PM
Speech girl said...
Your daughter looks so happy in her dress. It is very cute and looks like it has some good twirlability.
8/21/14 8:21 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks great. The red trim is very effective. How disappointing that the hemming/trim instructions were inadequate.
8/21/14 7:14 AM
judypin said...
This dress turned out so nicely, and fits her so well. She must love it!!
8/21/14 1:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-109

photo
by: Sewingelle

Review
Other N/A

photo
by: Sew Nanny

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

More Info