SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1803 (Misses Dress)

34 more reviews
Viewed 445 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 153
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/14 7:28 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Simplicity 1803
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Misses' & miss petite dress with bodice variations and tie belt. Be your own designer with patterns from the Inspired By Project Runway Collection.

Pattern Sizing:

4-20; I cut a size 16.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. They were really good. At one point I just started doing my own thing and got confused. Just follow the pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Oh, I love this dress!! Love the neckline, Love the wide straps and how they are applied, love the easy, gathered skirt. It's a perfect little dress!

My only regret is using store-bought bias binding on the arm openings :/ I didn't have enough self-fabric leftover and I liked the color.

Fabric Used:

Maggie London 100% cotton sateen from Fabric Mart Fabrics. I am extra happy that my order for 1.5 yards turned into 1 yard and 33 inches. It made a huge difference!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I removed about 1/2" from CB graded to nothing at the waist.
I lowered the bust curve on the princess seams 1".
I added 3/4" to the bodice length (Need to remove some of this in the back bodice).
Next time I will take a 3/8" wedge on the center front piece. It will then lie nice and flat against my body.

No design changes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I have plans to sew 2 more! I really love this one!

I needed a dress to wear to a wedding and didn't want to fiddle too much with a pattern. I did not muslin (let's face it, I pretty much never muslin), but I did measure the flat pattern and do some fitting as I sewed.

I would HIGHLY recommend it!

Conclusion:
There are many reviews of this pattern around the web and here on PR. I get a little crazy about Project Runway patterns and all their "design your own" pieces but this one worked!

I am proud of all the details especially my invisible zipper and blind hem! Woohoo!


Lots of commentary on the blog: Blog Post
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
9/8/14 10:30 AM
Shellia said...
I love your dress!
9/7/14 8:21 AM
thestitcherati said...
Beautiful job and I love the print!
8/26/14 1:44 PM
egreen42 said...
Really cute dress, it looks great on you!
8/26/14 10:20 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you!!
8/25/14 8:41 PM
Sheenagh said...
Really pretty - suits you perfectly! Hope you're feeling better :)
8/25/14 7:44 PM
Danmar said...
Very flattering. Nice print, style and length!
8/25/14 7:20 PM
hopflower said...

8/25/14 10:13 AM
hopflower said...
It is one of the prettiest dresses I have seen in a long time.
8/25/14 9:56 AM
MamaSewing said...
Love your dress and fabric! (Sorry about the migraine -I've had several this past week also:- (
8/25/14 9:39 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
8/25/14 9:05 AM
liliv said...
Love this fabric, pretty dress!
8/25/14 8:49 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Too too cute! Looks awesome on you
8/25/14 8:20 AM
BirdyBooo said...
Oh the fabric is so beautiful! This dress look so perfect on you! I have this pattern in my stash, can't wait to use it now :)
8/25/14 7:20 AM
RedRockin said...
Love the fabric and the dress looks lovely on you!
8/25/14 6:50 AM
JudyHan said...
Very very pretty!!
8/25/14 5:49 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful fabric! Your dress is lovely and fits you very well!
8/25/14 5:31 AM
Sandic105 said...
This is a very pretty dress and very pretty on you!
8/25/14 0:42 AM
carolynw said...
N-I-C-E !!
8/24/14 11:49 PM
Debbie Dabbles said...
So pretty.
8/24/14 11:28 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!! I love this dress! I think you should Dina!! It's such a nice fabric to sew!
8/24/14 11:10 PM
sewing for fun said...
Absolutely wonderful dress! The print was a perfect choice and fit is wonderful. A beautiful dress altogether!
8/24/14 10:50 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I can see why you love it, it's adorable! Great work!
8/24/14 10:12 PM
Sewcoastal said...
Really pretty, wonderful on you :-)
8/24/14 9:34 PM
dinagideon said...
That is beautiful, Mrs. C. :) I love you in a floral frock. I received a remnant of that same fabric from FM, and have hopes to turn it into something super-girly...maybe a full skirt since it obviously looks great in a full silhouette?
8/24/14 9:03 PM
STARG said...
Very pretty dress with the perfect fabric. Great job!
8/24/14 8:42 PM
j Renee Design said...
It turned out wonderfully! Love it.
8/24/14 8:36 PM
canei said...
Way too cute! AWESOME job. Fabric is beautiful!!!!!!
8/24/14 8:33 PM
lmb09 said...
Beautiful fabric and gorgeous on you!
8/24/14 8:08 PM
Judy Kski said...
Nice fit! That is beautiful fabric.
8/24/14 7:50 PM
svdean said...
So pretty. Your fabric is gorgeous.
8/24/14 7:45 PM
mary in FL said...
I love the happy flower print!
8/24/14 7:43 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/24/14 7:32 PM
nmehelich said...
nice job!
8/24/14 7:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 4275

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

More Info
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 7927

photo
by: Ceidhle

Review