SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1803 (Misses Dress)

33 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MrsCharismastarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/14 7:28 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma

Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma  Simplicity: 1803 by MrsCharisma  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1803
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:

Misses' & miss petite dress with bodice variations and tie belt. Be your own designer with patterns from the Inspired By Project Runway Collection.

Pattern Sizing:

4-20; I cut a size 16.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Yes. They were really good. At one point I just started doing my own thing and got confused. Just follow the pattern.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Oh, I love this dress!! Love the neckline, Love the wide straps and how they are applied, love the easy, gathered skirt. It's a perfect little dress!

My only regret is using store-bought bias binding on the arm openings :/ I didn't have enough self-fabric leftover and I liked the color.

Fabric Used:

Maggie London 100% cotton sateen from Fabric Mart Fabrics. I am extra happy that my order for 1.5 yards turned into 1 yard and 33 inches. It made a huge difference!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I removed about 1/2" from CB graded to nothing at the waist.
I lowered the bust curve on the princess seams 1".
I added 3/4" to the bodice length (Need to remove some of this in the back bodice).
Next time I will take a 3/8" wedge on the center front piece. It will then lie nice and flat against my body.

No design changes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I have plans to sew 2 more! I really love this one!

I needed a dress to wear to a wedding and didn't want to fiddle too much with a pattern. I did not muslin (let's face it, I pretty much never muslin), but I did measure the flat pattern and do some fitting as I sewed.

I would HIGHLY recommend it!

Conclusion:
There are many reviews of this pattern around the web and here on PR. I get a little crazy about Project Runway patterns and all their "design your own" pieces but this one worked!

I am proud of all the details especially my invisible zipper and blind hem! Woohoo!


Lots of commentary on the blog: Blog Post
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nmehelich said...
nice job!
8/24/14 7:32 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress!
8/24/14 7:32 PM
mary in FL said...
I love the happy flower print!
8/24/14 7:43 PM
svdean said...
So pretty. Your fabric is gorgeous.
8/24/14 7:45 PM
Judy Kski said...
Nice fit! That is beautiful fabric.
8/24/14 7:50 PM
lmb09 said...
Beautiful fabric and gorgeous on you!
8/24/14 8:08 PM
canei said...
Way too cute! AWESOME job. Fabric is beautiful!!!!!!
8/24/14 8:33 PM
j Renee Design said...
It turned out wonderfully! Love it.
8/24/14 8:36 PM
STARG said...
Very pretty dress with the perfect fabric. Great job!
8/24/14 8:42 PM
dinagideon said...
That is beautiful, Mrs. C. :) I love you in a floral frock. I received a remnant of that same fabric from FM, and have hopes to turn it into something super-girly...maybe a full skirt since it obviously looks great in a full silhouette?
8/24/14 9:03 PM
Sewcoastal said...
Really pretty, wonderful on you :-)
8/24/14 9:34 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I can see why you love it, it's adorable! Great work!
8/24/14 10:12 PM
sewing for fun said...
Absolutely wonderful dress! The print was a perfect choice and fit is wonderful. A beautiful dress altogether!
8/24/14 10:50 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thanks all!! I love this dress! I think you should Dina!! It's such a nice fabric to sew!
8/24/14 11:10 PM
Debbie Dabbles said...
So pretty.
8/24/14 11:28 PM
carolynw said...
N-I-C-E !!
8/24/14 11:49 PM
Sandic105 said...
This is a very pretty dress and very pretty on you!
8/25/14 0:42 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful fabric! Your dress is lovely and fits you very well!
8/25/14 5:31 AM
JudyHan said...
Very very pretty!!
8/25/14 5:49 AM
RedRockin said...
Love the fabric and the dress looks lovely on you!
8/25/14 6:50 AM
BirdyBooo said...
Oh the fabric is so beautiful! This dress look so perfect on you! I have this pattern in my stash, can't wait to use it now :)
8/25/14 7:20 AM
betty bushwacker said...
Too too cute! Looks awesome on you
8/25/14 8:20 AM
liliv said...
Love this fabric, pretty dress!
8/25/14 8:49 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
8/25/14 9:05 AM
MamaSewing said...
Love your dress and fabric! (Sorry about the migraine -I've had several this past week also:- (
8/25/14 9:39 AM
hopflower said...
It is one of the prettiest dresses I have seen in a long time.
8/25/14 9:56 AM
hopflower said...

8/25/14 10:13 AM
Danmar said...
Very flattering. Nice print, style and length!
8/25/14 7:20 PM
Sheenagh said...
Really pretty - suits you perfectly! Hope you're feeling better :)
8/25/14 7:44 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you!!
8/25/14 8:41 PM
egreen42 said...
Really cute dress, it looks great on you!
8/26/14 10:20 AM
thestitcherati said...
Beautiful job and I love the print!
8/26/14 1:44 PM
Shellia said...
I love your dress!
9/7/14 8:21 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you! :)
9/8/14 10:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 7696 OOP

photo
by: redside

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now