SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6796 (Misses' Tops)

24 more reviews
Review submitted in TNT Tee Contest Contest
Viewed 415 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/14 3:30 AM
Last Updated:8/25/14 3:45 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6796 by acmena

McCall's: 6796 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6796
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Pattern Description: MISSES' TOPS: Close-fitting, pullover tops have collar variations and narrow hem. C and D: button trim
SUGGESTED FABRICS: Jerseys, Cotton Knits, Sweater Knits

I made view B with long and short sleeves and two versions of View C without the collar.

Pattern Sizing: (6-8-10-12-14) I cut an 8 for the neck and shoulders, 10 underarm transitioning to 12 at the hip

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Somewhat, but subject to the variations I made

Were the instructions easy to follow? Having already made this twice, I didn't refer to them at all.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The fit. That said, each of the fabrics I used behaved differently and ended up fitting and feeling quite differently too.
Nothing to dislike

Fabric Used:

A: Cream cotton jersey from Lincraft with scraps of cotton jersey for the patchwork insert.

B: Ivory textured synthetic knit from a local OpShop

C: Black polyester jersey from Lincraft with leftover animal print polyester jersey

D: Navy and White ribbed cotton from Knitwit with scraps of red Lacoste cotton knit.


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened all the tops by 6.5cm - 3.5cm from the bottom and 3cm at the adjustment lines. I made wider hems and twin needled them

A: I'd been wanting to try out this seminole patchwork since seeing it used on an outfit in 'Australian Stitches' years ago. Trying it with knit fabric wasn't the most brilliant idea I've ever had. The result wasn't perfect, but I'm reasonably pleased with it.
I raised the neckline by 2.5cm and added a band of the batik print

B: Shortened the sleeves by 3.5cm otherwise as per pattern

C: I traced the pattern front & back, drew a curve that corresponded to the size of the pieces of animal print that I had, cut the pattern in two and added seam allowances. I added another 2.5cm to the height of the collar.

D: Not having quite enough striped fabric, I added in the red knit before cutting out the front and back pieces. I finished the neck with bias binding and twin needled it, using the edge of the presser foot as a guide

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I've now made six but I would use this pattern again if I required another Tee. I definitely recommend it as a very versatile pattern


Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Very nice, great use of this pattern!!!
8/25/14 7:31 AM
Sharonspils said...
Brilliant t-shirts they all look so different and the fit looks spot on.
8/25/14 9:02 AM
Judy Kski said...
What a great set of tees you've created with this pattern.
8/25/14 10:59 AM
Jozigirl said...
A nice collection you've put together!
8/25/14 11:01 AM
Debbie Dabbles said...
How creative. Really shows what good use I should be getting out of my patterns.
8/25/14 4:52 PM
Speech girl said...
I like all your versions! Well done!
8/25/14 7:55 PM
RedRockin said...
I love the way you added those insets! They all look great
8/26/14 10:20 AM
ggf2005 said...
I like the inset!
8/30/14 9:41 AM
petro said...
Nice Tees, I love the patchwork insert!
8/30/14 10:19 AM
supizoo said...
I love your unique collection. How fortuitous that you didn't have enough blue stripe fabric; the red insert really makes this T pop.
8/30/14 5:26 PM
Margaret said...
Nice tees -- love your inset details! The patchwork looks great!
9/3/14 2:30 PM
Aroura said...
I am just about to make this up, so I appreciate seeing all of your creative versions! Very nice job on all of them.
9/3/14 3:49 PM
Kabunta said...
You have a lovely collection! It shows great sewing skills and taste.
9/4/14 3:39 AM
FARQUHAR said...
Cute details! Nice job!
9/4/14 2:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8117

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used couch slip cover

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review