SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5891 (Misses Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 299 times 
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/14 3:20 PM
Last Updated:8/25/14 6:44 PM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5891 by kkkkaty

Butterick: 5891 by kkkkaty  Butterick: 5891 by kkkkaty  
Pattern Photo:

Buy Pattern
Butterick 5891
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: From the pattern: Loose-fitting top has collar variations, side pockets (left side A, B), and shaped hemline. A and B: raised neckline, mock neck/lower bands, front pleated peplum and narrow hem. C and D: folded, single layer collar, and stitched hems. Wrong side shows on hemlines and collar C, D.

I made view A, although one can hardly tell.... story below

Pattern Sizing: size 8-24. I sewed according to my measurements, and chose a size 16. Fits very well. I usually size down for the Tilton knit patterns, and am very glad that I did not for this woven pattern..

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, although this is a fiddly pattern and it does have a few errors and missing or incorrect pattern marks. These have been noted by others, so I won't repeat them. It is not, strictly speaking, "easy"

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love these novel, fun, funky patterns and appreciate having this kind of option to sew and to wear. No dislikes

Fabric Used: A woven cotton ikat by Kafe Fassett. I so wish I had bought more of this, and I don't see it available now anywhere. Before you send me some links, here's a story... I didn't have quite enough fabric to do the whole vet in the woven ikat, and I could not find a contrast I liked for view A. So I got on line to try and find some more of the ikat, and thought I had succeeded. I ordered a yard online, and when it arrived I found that I had a yard of printed ikat, otherwise very similar, except that the woven was identical on both sides, while the printed of course wasn't. They are so similar, except that the printed is a bit more symmetrical and the green dots are closer, that I don't think most people would notice.

In the back view, the printed ikat is on the right. I took a picture of the inside back mainly to show the contrast between the printed vs woven fabric.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: None.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

yes, I love it, and will make it again I am sure

Conclusion: Thanks to Martha (of the blog "Now sewing") and to Diane Erikson, who have both done such interesting things with this pattern, and who really inspired me.

Available for sale on PR: $18.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sarah Liz said...
What an interesting little top - you've pulled it off, despite the issues, which I have also read about here. This will make a great summer top, or a vest over a layer in cooler weather.
10/24/14 0:27 AM
kkkkaty said...
I wish the colors in the photo were truer, it's a true navy with lime green dots.
9/2/14 11:06 AM
marec said...
I am sitting here with some gray fabrics in my lap, wondering what to do with them. ah, your cool vest has inspired me. So pretty-thanks for the review!
9/1/14 8:42 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for the shout-out! Love your version.
8/27/14 8:20 AM
carolynw said...
Really nice - thanks for sharing!
8/26/14 10:39 AM
joycea said...
I always buy at least a 1/2 yard more than I need in case of errors or whatever...I'm glad I did for my last project because I had an oh no moment!
8/25/14 8:52 PM
MrsCharisma said...
WOW! I really love this! I have had this pattern on the back burner but maybe it's time to bump it up. I really love yours!
8/25/14 5:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
McCall's M5241

photo
by: ak21

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

More Info