SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3036 

31 more reviews
Review submitted in TNT Tee Contest Contest
Viewed 547 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Australia
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/25/14 9:48 PM
Last Updated:8/26/14 2:48 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3036 by acmena

Kwik Sew: 3036 by acmena  Kwik Sew: 3036 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3036
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag: plaid  

Review for the other four versions (View A) of the "TNT Tee" contest entry
Click Here

Pattern Description: Misses' very close fitting pullover tops have short hemmed dolman sleeves. View A, B and D have necklines finished with narrow hems. View A has a round neckline, View B has a scoop neckline, View C has a cowl collar. View D has a bias cut front and back with centre front and centre back seams and a boat neckline.
Designed for stretch knits only with 25% stretch across the grain. We suggest interlock, stretch velvet, textured knits, stretch lace or matte jersey.

I made View C

Pattern Sizing: : XS-S-M-L-XL

I made an S, adding an extra 5cm to the circumference at the bottom to allow for my pear shape.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes it did, although the different fabrics behaved quite differently in the cowl collar particularly

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very simple. I serged the sleeve hems rather than just overcast and tacked the hem down on the jersey one rather than just pin. It gave me more control when twin needling the hems

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked that it was very quick and simple to make and surprisingly well fitting.

Fabric Used:
A: Missoni knit from the Silk Shop in Sydney, a piece I've had for 15 years

B: Emerald viscose/rayon jersey from the Fabric Store in Brisbane

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I only shortened it by 2.5cm

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I've already made seven from this pattern. I would definitely recommend it

Conclusion: Quick and easy, suitable for beginners unless using a slinky, slippery knit

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Dabbles said...
Crazy how much mileage you get out of these patterns. Soon as I am practiced on my serger I plan to do a ton of tees just like you have.
8/25/14 11:31 PM
Geejay said...
Great tops.you certainly made the most out of your pattern. They all look fabulous. The basic pattern looks like it would be easy enough to change up for different looks. I like ks patterns.
8/26/14 6:09 AM
canei said...
Very nice!
8/26/14 8:06 AM
Dee2 said...
These tops are really lovely & the fit looks great!
8/26/14 8:41 AM
BJ1400 said...
Those fit so well & look great on you!
8/26/14 9:50 AM
RedRockin said...
Fabulous job!
8/26/14 10:54 AM
Levone said...
I love your tops! I have made a few shirts out of this pattern also and love to wear them, my favorite is the cowl neck version. Thanks for the reminder to pull it out.
8/26/14 12:33 PM
petro said...
Wow, a super collection. My favourite is the Black and white floral, do you have a favourite?
8/29/14 1:36 PM
acmena said...
petro...I hadn't even thought about it. I guess the Missoni one, as I'd been waiting so long for a pattern that did it justice.
8/29/14 7:31 PM
ggf2005 said...
very nice!
8/30/14 9:35 AM
HRigg said...
Tees are a great fit and a great selection of fabrics.
8/31/14 2:52 PM
Margaret said...
These look very nicely made! Love your fabrics too.
9/3/14 5:59 PM
Kabunta said...
This is such a neat collection. Perfect fit, beautiful fabrics, flawless execution. Great job!
9/4/14 4:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

StyleArc Angela Blouse

photo
by: mm

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now