SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2014-5 (New Boheme )

1 more reviews
Viewed 189 times 
Reviewed by:shirleyyoujest
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About shirleyyoujeststar
Member since: 4/15/11
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/14 3:48 AM
Project Photo:Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2014-5 by shirleyyoujest

Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2014-5 by shirleyyoujest  
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Tunic jersey knit top with pleated front panel and pockets.

Pattern Sizing:34-52

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I love the look of this top and it was fairly easy to sew together. However, tracing the pattern proved to be challenging. Some of the pieces are large and required taping my paper together first. This would be a challenge if you are new to tracing Ottobre patterns, but the actual sewing is quite easy.

Fabric Used:rayon jersey

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I had to cut 3 inches off the length to make it a little shorter for me.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes, I will definitely be making this again!

Conclusion: This is a great item to add to your wardrobe. It is very comfortable and stylish to wear. For more photos, see myBlog.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
catinthehat2 said...
Love the whole outfit!! Never tried Ottobre but very tempted now as this is just my style. Could also see DD2 in it.
8/26/14 4:43 AM
shirleyyoujest said...
Thank you! Our family loves Ottobre! I have a teenage son and if it weren't for Ottobre, I wouldn't be able to sew for him as much. Their styles are very current and their magazine is just beautiful. There is a learning curve with tracing. The first time I tried it was very difficult and I put the pattern away for a couple of months. I am so glad I was persistent because their patterns are very well drafted. My kids love the patterns so much that they put sticky notes all through the pages of what they would like. :)
8/26/14 5:09 AM
SilverBrumby said...
You are very quick! I just got this Ottobre issue today in the mail, it's a really good one with lots of casual styles. I will be making this tunic for sure. Yours looks great! Thanks for the review.
8/26/14 5:41 AM
ISewedIt said...
Adorable top! Looks so comfortable too.
8/26/14 6:31 AM
shirleyyoujest said...
Thank you both! I live in Europe so I got my issue last week, so I had a few days to work on this before the U.S. got their issues. I was lucky that I had some fabric on hand to sew up. I was planning on leggings with a top and then when I saw this issue, I new it would be perfect for it!
8/26/14 7:03 AM
carolynw said...
Looks like an easy to wear top but still is very stylish. Looks great on you.
8/26/14 3:18 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Adorable tunic! You're quick to sew it up and review so fast! Thanks for sharing and noting about the length. I will likely need to shorten it as well. I have some merino jersey waiting to become this top and I can see myself wearing this outfit throughout the fall and winter!
8/26/14 3:26 PM
GoSewGirl said...
Adorable tunic! I love the whole outfit really. Great fabrics and colors. You're quick to sew it up and review so fast! Thanks for sharing and noting about the length. I will likely need to shorten it as well. I have some merino jersey waiting to become this top and I can see myself wearing this outfit throughout the fall and winter!
8/26/14 3:27 PM
style inspired said...
Wow you are fast- I just got my copy last week and this is on my to-sew list for fall. Thanks for posting your version. Was it tricky sewing the side pieces to the centre piece in the front where the pockets start? Looks like the box pleats are stitched down for several inches?
8/26/14 5:46 PM
Debbie Dabbles said...
Love this tunic. Not ready to banch out beyond beginner yet but I am learning much from reading all theses reviews. Thanks.
8/26/14 9:08 PM
shirleyyoujest said...
Style inspired....I thought it would be a little tricky for that seam where the pockets are, but once you are in the process of sewing it together, it goes together easily. I just put a pin at the point where the pocket begins so I know where to stop sewing along that seam. Then you sew a few top stitches at that point where the pocket begins, which kind of holds the opening down and in place. I hope that makes since. Yes, the pleats are stitched down about 5 inches (10 cm). I think I set my stitch length to about 3 for that. I have a Pfaff with a dual feed foot and it works really well with sewing knits and getting them to feed evenly.
8/27/14 0:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Great outfit! Great top....this is a good issue....
8/27/14 11:33 AM
Rairscat said...
Now I see this review :) I'm guessing they had moms ask for the little girl's tunic in adult sizes, because this is exactly like the pocketed tunic from a couple issues back. Definitely on my to-sew list. You look great!
8/27/14 10:23 PM
shirleyyoujest said...
Thank you! I love this issue. I cannot wait to make a skirt and other tunic top. Fabric is on order and another review to come!
8/28/14 0:51 AM
egreen42 said...
Cute top!
8/28/14 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now