SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 150 (Dana's Top)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1417 times 
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo

 
 
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/05 10:53 PM
Last Updated:10/30/05 10:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
Lorna, this top looks great on you. Thanks for the great review on Silhouette patterns. I have not yet tried one. It's nice to know that the FBA has already been addressed.
10/30/05 11:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for a great review. Your top really looks nice - the style suits you.
10/31/05 1:56 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Love your top, Lorna. Nice job!
10/31/05 4:04 AM
Shellia said...
This style looks great on you!
10/31/05 6:37 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks so much for the review. I've been looking at this top, and it looks so good on you! And no FBA - can't beat that!
10/31/05 7:01 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Hey great top Lorna- I remember your conversation with Peggy about this! *pout* my pattern is still in pristine condition....
10/31/05 7:32 AM
Shari Lynn said...
Thanks for this review. I have one of her patterns, but I'm hesitant because I really don't know what size to make. I suppose I just go by my bust measurement, cross my fingers, and it will work.
10/31/05 7:37 AM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty and flattering top. Beautiful color.
10/31/05 8:04 AM
sherri2sew said...
great fit!
10/31/05 8:04 AM
Linda E. said...
Great looking top it looks really good on you. Thanks for the review.
10/31/05 8:04 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
The first thing I thought when I saw your picture, was, "wow, a great fit." Then I read your review, and I'm impressed that it didn't require an FBA! I will have to take a closer look at this pattern line.
10/31/05 8:26 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Shari Lynn, just take a deep breath and us the size that matches your fullbust and pick the front according to cup size. As I said, I am a genereous F?G cup and the D fit well without alterations to the front! GO for it ... if you are as nervous as I was, go and grab some cheap fabric from the clearance table/stash and make a "muslin" first.
10/31/05 8:26 AM
Kathy Russell said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this top. It came out so nice. Make sure to review the pattern again when you sew up you new fabric.
10/31/05 9:00 AM
diane s said...
I had been thinking about this pattern, but wondered if the horizontal seam would 'highlight' the bust area....it doesn't seem too, your top is well fitting and flattering. I think the sizing is tricky too, I made 'Nancy's' blouse and had to size down twice when going by the finished garment measurements.
10/31/05 9:42 AM
Hilary said...
This looks great on you Lorna!! It's good to know there are patterns out there that don't require the FBA :o)
10/31/05 9:47 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Lorna. Your top looks wonderful! I think Peggy's sizing is very realistic, unlike the "Big 4" & many other pattern drafters. I have this pattern & have been very eager to try it, but was up to my eyebrows in pants-fitting "issues"! You spur me on!
10/31/05 9:59 AM
Mini said...
Your top looks so much better than the pattern photo! I wish she would show her designs on fuller figures as well as smaller sizes. I would not have guessed that pattern would fit so well from seeing it on the catalog models.
10/31/05 10:17 AM
touran said...
What a grand surprise to not have to do an FBA!! I'm impressed that you trusted her and the fit is wonderful.
10/31/05 10:22 AM
Dixielynn said...
The top and color look great. It is nice to know there are patterns which take into consideration the cup size!
10/31/05 11:46 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This looks good on you! I have a few of her patterns in my stash I need to try. It's so nice not to have to do an fba....
10/31/05 1:04 PM
Diana M said...
What a terrific find, Lorna -- no FBA and it fits wonderfully. Thanks for the review.
10/31/05 1:34 PM
Jill Giard said...
Nice top! The color and style are great on you.
10/31/05 5:52 PM
AliceB said...
Lorna, Thank you... Thank you... I have this pattern and have been reluctant to try it out. I love Peggy's Classic Blouse pattern so just need to dive right in.
10/31/05 6:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking and fitting top. I made one of her blouses (550 Cowl Neck) before and it was a disaster. I do like her sewing instructions and have watched her on Sew Much More a few times. I ordered a jacket pattern from her to give her patterns a try again. Glad you had such good results. I think I just need to figure my finished size and go for it.
11/1/05 5:57 AM
Sonut said...
Regarding the Stretched Seam across the yoke I had the same problem, and then recently I stitched another knit wita chain stitch on my cover stitch machine and it seemed to stretch less, but still allowed the garment to stretch as needed.
1/9/13 9:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Butterick 5260

photo
by: marec

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now