Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 150 (Dana's Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1410 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Lorna C. Newman
photo
About Lorna C. Newmanstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 8/10/02
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/05 10:53 PM
Last Updated:10/30/05 10:53 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew obsessed said...
Lorna, this top looks great on you. Thanks for the great review on Silhouette patterns. I have not yet tried one. It's nice to know that the FBA has already been addressed.
10/30/05 11:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for a great review. Your top really looks nice - the style suits you.
10/31/05 1:56 AM
Mary Gillette said...
Love your top, Lorna. Nice job!
10/31/05 4:04 AM
Shellia said...
This style looks great on you!
10/31/05 6:37 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks so much for the review. I've been looking at this top, and it looks so good on you! And no FBA - can't beat that!
10/31/05 7:01 AM
ConnieBJ said...
Hey great top Lorna- I remember your conversation with Peggy about this! *pout* my pattern is still in pristine condition....
10/31/05 7:32 AM
Shari Lynn said...
Thanks for this review. I have one of her patterns, but I'm hesitant because I really don't know what size to make. I suppose I just go by my bust measurement, cross my fingers, and it will work.
10/31/05 7:37 AM
Lori Sews said...
Very pretty and flattering top. Beautiful color.
10/31/05 8:04 AM
sherri2sew said...
great fit!
10/31/05 8:04 AM
Linda E. said...
Great looking top it looks really good on you. Thanks for the review.
10/31/05 8:04 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
The first thing I thought when I saw your picture, was, "wow, a great fit." Then I read your review, and I'm impressed that it didn't require an FBA! I will have to take a closer look at this pattern line.
10/31/05 8:26 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Shari Lynn, just take a deep breath and us the size that matches your fullbust and pick the front according to cup size. As I said, I am a genereous F?G cup and the D fit well without alterations to the front! GO for it ... if you are as nervous as I was, go and grab some cheap fabric from the clearance table/stash and make a "muslin" first.
10/31/05 8:26 AM
Kathy Russell said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this top. It came out so nice. Make sure to review the pattern again when you sew up you new fabric.
10/31/05 9:00 AM
diane s said...
I had been thinking about this pattern, but wondered if the horizontal seam would 'highlight' the bust area....it doesn't seem too, your top is well fitting and flattering. I think the sizing is tricky too, I made 'Nancy's' blouse and had to size down twice when going by the finished garment measurements.
10/31/05 9:42 AM
Hilary said...
This looks great on you Lorna!! It's good to know there are patterns out there that don't require the FBA :o)
10/31/05 9:47 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review, Lorna. Your top looks wonderful! I think Peggy's sizing is very realistic, unlike the "Big 4" & many other pattern drafters. I have this pattern & have been very eager to try it, but was up to my eyebrows in pants-fitting "issues"! You spur me on!
10/31/05 9:59 AM
Mini said...
Your top looks so much better than the pattern photo! I wish she would show her designs on fuller figures as well as smaller sizes. I would not have guessed that pattern would fit so well from seeing it on the catalog models.
10/31/05 10:17 AM
touran said...
What a grand surprise to not have to do an FBA!! I'm impressed that you trusted her and the fit is wonderful.
10/31/05 10:22 AM
Dixielynn said...
The top and color look great. It is nice to know there are patterns which take into consideration the cup size!
10/31/05 11:46 AM
SouthernStitch said...
This looks good on you! I have a few of her patterns in my stash I need to try. It's so nice not to have to do an fba....
10/31/05 1:04 PM
Diana M said...
What a terrific find, Lorna -- no FBA and it fits wonderfully. Thanks for the review.
10/31/05 1:34 PM
Jill Giard said...
Nice top! The color and style are great on you.
10/31/05 5:52 PM
AliceB said...
Lorna, Thank you... Thank you... I have this pattern and have been reluctant to try it out. I love Peggy's Classic Blouse pattern so just need to dive right in.
10/31/05 6:42 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking and fitting top. I made one of her blouses (550 Cowl Neck) before and it was a disaster. I do like her sewing instructions and have watched her on Sew Much More a few times. I ordered a jacket pattern from her to give her patterns a try again. Glad you had such good results. I think I just need to figure my finished size and go for it.
11/1/05 5:57 AM
Sonut said...
Regarding the Stretched Seam across the yoke I had the same problem, and then recently I stitched another knit wita chain stitch on my cover stitch machine and it seemed to stretch less, but still allowed the garment to stretch as needed.
1/9/13 9:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6127 Misses Top
photo
Review by SteffieMar... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6598
photo
Review by Lizz on 6/27/13
Read Review

New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9732 Pattern
Burda 9732 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us