Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5191 (Jean Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1406 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 182 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/07 8:24 PM
Last Updated:1/14/12 7:02 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LauraTS said...
The fit on this looks really nice.
1/9/07 8:37 PM
quilter55 said...
Great choice of fabric and a beautiful fit on you! I have this pattern--now I'm inspired to make something with it.
1/9/07 8:55 PM
PVA said...
Wow, Sherril, this jacket is wonderful on you! Beautiful job, thanks for the review. (Did you put shoulder pads in? I ask because your shoulders are so beautifully balanced with your hip-line, both from the front & the back.)
1/9/07 9:26 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Sherril, I love this jacket on you. You did a great job on the topstitching and the fit is just right. It looks great.
1/9/07 10:03 PM
PatM said...
Wow! The jacket looks beautiful on you! It fits you well. I am inspired to use this pattern for a jeans jacket.
1/9/07 10:14 PM
PatM said...
Wow! The jacket looks beautiful on you! It fits you well. I am inspired to use this pattern for a jeans jacket.
1/9/07 10:15 PM
Liane M said...
Sherril, your jacket is fantastic, and you look wonderful wearing it. Thank you for the review.
1/9/07 10:19 PM
frame said...
Your jacket looks great.
1/9/07 10:27 PM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful choice (fabric + pattern) and great fit. This looks wonderful on you.
1/9/07 10:34 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Sherril - what a beautiful jacket. I love the pocket detail and, you obviously made all the right adjustment because it looks like it fits beautifully.
1/9/07 11:15 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty jacket! Lovely fit and gorgeous fabric. Very professional!
1/9/07 11:17 PM
KarmenG said...
Fabulous Sherril! You really have the fitting adjustments perfected! And I love the fabric choice. I like that color on you.
1/9/07 11:18 PM
drsue said...
You really did a wonderful job on this. It fits you perfectly and is very flattering.
1/9/07 11:29 PM
Vonnevo said...
A fabulous jacket and lovely photo Sherril. The fabric is perfect and the colour suits you so well.
1/10/07 0:44 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
An absolutely terrific job and looks so beautiful on you!! Thank you for the great review.
1/10/07 1:08 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Thanks for the tip on rotating the fba dart to the centre front seam - I have struggled with what to do with the fba on a similar jeans jacket.
1/10/07 2:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Sherrill, this is a great looking jacket on you. You did a great job on fitting and it shows. I can understand why you would want to make another one. Like your faux chest pockets, another good idea!
1/10/07 5:12 AM
lynny said...
Thank-you for your detailed review. Your jacket looks great on you, fits well and the colour suits you well.
1/10/07 5:24 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful fabric, fit, and workmanship.
1/10/07 5:53 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great fit, lovely jacket! What more could you ask for :) !!
1/10/07 7:27 AM
bonnie said...
beautiful workmanship and great review
1/10/07 7:59 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I've got this pattern in my stash waiting to be sewn.
1/10/07 9:30 AM
LornaJay said...
I *really* like the look of the whole outfit.
1/10/07 9:56 AM
JenniferBee said...
Beautiful Jacket Sherril, Love the fabric and a wonderful fit.
1/10/07 3:38 PM
Georgene said...
Sherril this jacket looks great on you. Its a very flattering fit. Please post your other versions, I know this is going on your list of TNT patterns.
1/10/07 4:28 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, what a stunning jacket. Really, really pretty. Elegant, even. You just never know what fabric youwill find at Joanns!
1/10/07 4:34 PM
cmarie12 said...
Sherrill ~ this looks very pretty on you!
1/11/07 1:12 PM
Lisa Laree said...
OK, Sherril, I just went to Hobby Lobby and took advantage of the 99 cent McCall's pattern sale to get this pattern...just because of this review ;). Great job!
1/12/07 3:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Pat, no shoulder pads. I forgot to mention that I did a sloping shoulder alteration. I cut away 1/2 inch at the end of the shoulder tapering to nothing at the neck. Instead of shortening the sleeve cap, I just cut the sleeve cap one size smaller and didn't have any problems fitting the sleeve into the armhole. The jacket has dropped shoulders. I think next time I will raise the sleeve cap and bring in the shoulders closer to my shoulder to get rid of the draglines down the sleeve.
1/12/07 7:45 PM
jbrewer said...
That is a beautiful jacket! Great job with it.
1/13/07 11:25 AM
JudyP said...
Sherril, This jacket looks great! Did you stitch the dart that you rotated to the center front? I can't tell from the pictures. The fit is great on you!
1/15/07 9:26 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Judy, the dart isn't stitched. The added length is necessary to go over the mountains. You do need to lengthen the center front pattern piece that this side panel is sewn to. This alteration is found in FFRP.
1/15/07 10:52 AM
cathy45 said...
Your jacket looks wonderful on you--great fit, lovely fabric. Very flattering.
1/17/07 1:04 AM
SewTwin said...
Sherrill, I purchased this fabric, also! I love your jean jacket styling. Your review encourages me to get mine done ASAP. Thanks for the heads up on the stretchy denim, I will definitely stabilize it.Kudos for the fit, wish I had you sewing eye.
1/25/07 6:45 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Sherrill, I am trying to make this jacket but am having a few problems. Did you treat the opening of the sleeve the way it describes in the pattern? I am not happy with the raw edge on the upper part of the narrow hem on the undersleeve. Also, how did you treat the narrow hem on the upper sleeve? Did you just let it gradually fold back into a full seam allowance? I know you used flat fell seams and I can't picture how you did that with the sleeve openings. Maybe I just don't understand the directiuons and am doing it all wrong. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear from you. I should add that I am working on my second muslin. The first one was far too small in the hips.
2/11/07 9:47 PM
OP Gal said...
Great review. I was searching the reviews, looking for a good pattern that would fit my hard-to-fit body. Your review told me what I needed to know; that this is a good pattern. You did a great job. It looks very professional. It fits you well and your construction, from the pictures, looks professional as well. What more could you want? Thanks for helping me make up my mind about which pattern to use. Believe it or not, this pattern is still available!--and on sale.
3/3/10 11:14 AM
BeaJay said...
Love your jacket - great job - fun material (and nice happy smile!!) I am still having trouble putting comments on your blog so thanks for posting it here. Great job. Like the tip about sewing the facing to the interfacing.
1/14/12 7:07 PM
Sewmetoo said...
Gorgeous jacket.
1/14/12 7:35 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric, great fit!
1/14/12 7:38 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Sherril, great new jacket. I love your photos too. You look so happy.
1/14/12 8:21 PM
blue mooney said...
NICE! Hmm. Maybe I need to give this pattern a second chance.
1/15/12 6:43 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! Your jacket is gorgeous. Great job!
1/15/12 1:29 PM
Dale C said...
Neat jacket! Looks like the olive wardrobe is on a roll... :)
1/15/12 2:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3845 Threads
photo
Review by Tearsa on 12/11/07
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket Plaza Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 2/27/07
Read Review

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us